You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tin Tenth Anniversary

in #humor2 years ago (edited)

I don't like it too much if shows, that are obviously not based on facts. take themself too seriously. But it is not easy to find the right balance, I guess. Here on German TV they have crime shows sometimes, which miss this balance as well. Then you see one or a team of police detectives, supposedly investigating a murder case. But actually its all about their private problems, broken relationships, kids in puberty, a father that has Alzheimer or god knows what else. The actual investigation is done just inbetween, if and when they find time outside their private mess. Its just not what I'm looking for if I watch a crime show.
I guess the writers try to be closer to real life that way, but in fact they just dissipate in their story telling.

Yeah, there are some guys in US TV that seem to pop up in every production that didn't lock the doors fast enough. :) Bill Nye is one of them. In Big Bang Theory he appeared several times. Same as this old guy, I forget his name, he also did a popular science show many years ago, I think. He is quite funny actually.
Btw., there is a documentary about nature/ ecology out now, that is narrated by Barak Obama. Did you hear about that?

Sort:  

Yeah, I get that--it's the reason why I don't watch most firefighting shows. Stop with the soap opera and give me firefighting!

I haven't seen that documentary, but I'll probably get around to it eventually. There are plenty of documentaries, these days!

Well, its called "Our Great National Parks" and is a 5 part mini series. Not all parts are about US national parks, its all around the world. Yeah, narrator is a good job for him - if there is one thing he is good in, its talking.
Its on Netflix here, but may be you can find it elsewhere in the US.

Yes, Netflix especially produces tons of documentaries about each and everything. Just the other day I watched one about the Boeing 737 Max crashes. Absolutely irresponsible and criminal, how Boeing acted in that. Especially the 2nd crash was totally unnecessary. They knew exactly what the problem was, but didn't want to ground all the planes for PR reasons. Which killed another 150 people.

I don't have Netflix, but there are great documentaries all over the place, so I don't miss it too much. Still putting a lot of time into trying to sell those books!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82