#27 Humans Of Steemit : @appiepearl (A Chilled Out Lady Who's Living Her Dream Life)

27.png

Hello! Hello!

Welcome to Humans Of Steemit, where we showcase the human behind the username!

This post is all about @appiepearl.
Whom I think is a GEM of a person!

Enjoy!!


Q&A

Who are you? Tell us anything and everything you’d like us to know about you.

I’m an aunt, a daughter and a sister. One of those people that keep their inner circle small but strong. I’ve had the same best friend for 38 years and I’m only (only?) 43. Yet I know a lot of people. Growing up, and I guess even into adulthood, I’ve never really had a core group of people. I know a few people from various cliques, if you will, but never really fit 100% in to any of them.

I love art and music, yet have no aptitude for either. My attempt at creativity is paper crafting and adult coloring books. I occasionally play with words and will write a poem or two. I love books and coffee. I’m an animal lover and yes, I am that crazy lady that lives alone with two dogs and a cat. I train and do competition obedience and agility with the dogs. Something I never intended to get into, but something that has given me more joy, friendships and sense of accomplishment than I ever imagined it would.
c85c5786-3250-43bf-9a9f-8528e07d3bee.jpg
0cd9dcef-3729-417b-b147-8e900c91108a.jpg
I have a corporate type professional job but work very hard at work-life balance. I recently quit a job that was high paying with lots of perks in order to be closer to family and spend less time on the road or tied to work devices.Although I like nice things, and I love being able to do what I want when I want, I’m not entirely driven by money. Life should be enjoyed. So I left my job, packed up 1800 miles and here I am lovin’ life.

What makes your heart smile?

Lots of things. When people who were given a second chance, succeed. When my niece and nephews laugh. When people triumph over their obstacles. When my dog looks up at me with love in her eyes while we work.

How did you get into Steemit?

My boyfriend @johnelder-org told me about it. He’s taught me a lot about crypto, and he’s been learning a lot about photography with his new camera. He thought it’d be something I’d enjoy. And he’s right.

Where do you want to die?

Any place that won’t cause additional trauma to those close to me. So I suppose if I had to pick, someplace like a hospice where I’d be comfortable, at peace, and surrounded by the people I love.

When’s the last time you cried?

I honestly am not sure. Last I remember crying was the day I moved from Illinois to come back home to Vegas. I’d been so focused on what I was coming to, I had this last minute mourning of things I was leaving. Other than that, I was pretty choked up reading a Christmas card from my boyfriend. No tears, but close. And had there been tears they would have definitely been tears of joy.

What’s something you DON’T like about all this new technology?

For the most part I embrace it. And not sure we can even call smart phones and social media “new” anymore, but I do get bothered that although it brings people together, it has allowed us to somewhat hide behind the devices. We don’t know how to have difficult conversations face-to-face anymore. I think in life, and in business, that is a downfall.

What mistake do you keep making and why?

Random thing but when I type the name Doug, I constantly put an ‘h’ behind it and then have to correct myself. But on a more serious note, I do procrastinate. Why?

Well, that’s the million dollar question. Maybe I like the pressure? I do preform well when under the gun.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever gotten?

I’ve had some really great people and mentors in my life. But what jumps out at me is really is a quote somebody once sent me. “Never let anyone else rent space in your head”.

If there was something you could undo, what would it be?

Sept 11, 2001. It changed us. It made us a nation that lives in fear. And I hate that.

Imagine that you magically have the ability to keep being alive without sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

Learn another language. Read more books.

What’s the stupidest thing you’ve done that actually turned out pretty well?

Life is trial and error. We all do stupid things that made sense at the time. I did a lot of drugs when I was younger. Pretty stupid.

But in hindsight they taught me a lot. They taught me it’s ok to lose control every once in awhile. And in ways that I can’t explain, the psychedelic drugs made me ok with who I really am. Taught me peace with my authentic self.

What makes your belly ache with laughter?

My mom. Nobody makes me laugh harder than my mom.

Tell us about 1 significant event in your life that really made you who you are

There isn’t any isolated event that made me who I am. It’s the sum of all the little events in my life that have shaped who I am.
There have been, however, a few events that reminded me to get back to what’s important in my life and to be more true to my authentic self. The most significant of those is the birth of my brother’s first child.

What would be the scariest monster you could imagine?

Oh these monsters already exist. Birds. I’m terrified of birds (for no logical reason, I know) and I honestly can’t think of any monster more scary.

What does Steemit mean for you?

It’s a place to connect. But in a real way. I find that other social media platforms you have to sift through a lot of smoke and mirrors. A lot of “look at me and my perfect happy life” posts. Steemit, to me, is more real. It’s people learning from each other and sharing their small piece of the world in a more genuine way.

What would you like your last meal to be?

Straight up bar food. The stuff that we know is bad for us but we love. Wings, pizza, booze and ice cream. Maybe a brownie too.

If you could change your name what would you change it to?

I like my name, not sure I would change it. (FYI, my name is April) But if I HAD to, I’ve always liked the name Devin.

If you could be an animal for a day, which animal would you be? Why?

A giraffe. They have a unique view of the world that others do not.

Which person inspires you the most and why do they inspire you?

My mom. She is the most selfless person I have ever met. There is nothing she won’t do for the people she loves. She doesn’t always agree with my decisions in life, but she has always whole-heartedly supported them. And she’s insanely loyal. My step brother said at her wedding, “even when she knows you’re wrong she’ll defend you to the death to other people”. That’s just her. She takes care of her tribe.

What are you insecure about?

This is really vain, but I’m very insecure about how quickly my hair is going gray. Other than that, I’m a pretty secure and confident person. Although I am sometimes ashamed at how bad I am at math.

Describe your ideal life.

This one right here, right now. I’m living it every single day.

Have you ever saved someone’s life?

Yes. It’s a deeply personal story and probably too long for this post. Short version: a very dear friend of mine was on a path that was surely going to lead him to death. I took him in (many times) and provided him basic needs that he wouldn’t have had otherwise. I walked his path to getting off drugs (the hard ones) right along side him. It took years, but we did it.

What do other people think is weird about you?

Suppose you’d have to ask other people. Most people don’t understand the bird fear.

What do you think is one of the best things about you?

I don’t play into drama... Ever. I’m a pretty chill person.

What’s one responsibility you really wish you didn’t have?

Finances. I’m Ok at it, but I don’t enjoy it. I’d love to just pass over my paychecks and let somebody else manage my money.

If you had a personal flag, what would be on it?

I’m sort of all over the place, so “things” might be hard. I’d probably commission somebody to do an abstract that represents all the things I love.

If a genie granted you three wishes right now what would you wish for?
  1. Health for my friends and family
  2. A paid for, simple dream house with lots of land
  3. Perfect skin haha
What do you think about when you’re by yourself?

Usually the people I love. I remember conversations, I predict and role play future conversations (does that make me crazy?) I day dream about the future a lot too.

What would you want to be written on your tombstone?

She loved, she lived, she laughed.

Who is the person you trust the most?

My mom

What’s your favorite word?

Radass. It’s technically not a word I suppose, but it’s my favorite. When badass just isn’t enough, RADASS is where it’s at. Love it.

If you had 25 minutes to do anything you wanted without external consequences what would you do?

I love to drive a sweet sports car crazy fast down a curvy road. Assuming I knew how to drive a stick shift, and that death or injury would be one of the external consequences that wouldn’t happen.

Who is your fave (or one of your favorite) Steemians and why?

There are a few that stand out. But I’m going to say @sykochica. She’s really the first one that made me feel a sense of community here. She goes above and beyond to help minnows and made me feel welcome very quickly in a Discord group. Plus, I think she’s pretty funny.

If you were arrested with no explanation, what would your friends and family assume you had done?

Traffic accident. Maybe DUI, although I don’t drive when I shouldn’t.

When you looked in the mirror firs thing this morning what was the first thing you thought?

Well, up to you if you post this, but truth of the matter is this morning I woke up and thought damn, that’s some impressive sex hair!

What’s the most ridiculous fact you know?

This multiplication cheat for 9s with my hands. If you hold out your hands, palms up and put down the finger of the number you want to multiply by 9, that’ll give you the answer. 9 x 3… so hold your hands up, depress your middle finger on your left hand. Notice you have 2 fingers up before it, and 7 up behind it. 9x3=27

What is something that you just recently realized that you are embarrassed you didn’t realize earlier?

I spent way too many years married to the wrong guy. Took me way too long to wake up from that one, when apparently everyone around me knew it.

What is your nickname?

Appiepearl. It’s actually a combo of two nicknames that have just sort of melded into one. My mom calls me Appie (my name is April) and my best friend’s grandma could never remember my name when we were little. She’d always mess it up and call me Pearl. So for the last 30+ years her family has called me Pearl. Now her and my mom both call me appiepearl.

As a Human of Steemit, how do you contribute to Steemit?

Acceptance. I’m still very new here, and finding my place, but no matter where I land, I can promise that my comments, posts and interactions all come without judgement.


Oh dear @appiepearl! I really think you and I could be really good friends (online and IRL)!

You are such a down-to-Earth human who seems to hold a love of love in your heart!

It's really beautiful to see you making choices that make YOU happy and are pursuing the things that put a smile on your face!
Very inspiring

Thank you for being so honest.
Thank you for putting a smile on my face through being SO yourself!
Thank you for participating on Humans Of Steemit!


Go follow her! @appiepearl is where you'll find her blog!


If you want to be featured on Humans of Steemit to combat the botty world online and to show your heart, get in touch with me!
@ashleykalila on steemit.chat and Discord.
Or send me an e-mail : [email protected]

If you want to support Humans of Steemit, please hit follow on this blog, upvote this post and if you really LOVE it, resteem it!
(But really only do that if you REALLY REALLY want to! I believe in a life where we only do what we want to do!)

Humans Of Steemit believes in You.
And so do I!

I had help with editing by the lovely @deadsparrow. He is a good dude.
You should go talk to him.

BIG love,

Ashley

@ashleykalila is my blog just in case you'd be interested to see what I write about!

Made by the wonderful @stellabelle

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

I just love these series and it's a good way of exposing people I would have not found easily!

Keep being awesome and I'll just mosey my way to her posts haha.

Thanks @maverickinvictus! Following you now :)

Hello, you would be so kind to pass me your 4 digits to identify yourself in discord. Well, I'm looking for you
@ashleykalila but it does not allow me to find your user. Regards

Ofcourse! :)

ashleykalila#9551

Learn another language. Read more books.
The golden words.

Right? Now, if I actually did have the time to do more of those things!

Nice post. She truly is down to earth and so full of love

Sweet of you to say, than k you @mimidiamond

So kind of you to say. Thank you.

this is awesomeee! Steemit is full of great and talented people!! Thanks for sharing a lovely person ! :D

Oh my dear @appiepearl !! every time i learn somthing about you i feel more connected and inspired. You didnt talk much here about how you are a total badass. But everyone should know. She is. :P

Haha, I'm actually radass LOL. Thanks @limabeing. Suppose I'm sorta humble too? ;)

Great post friend, I love your articles.

So happy to see you here! Nice to learn some more about you my friend. We learn from most things in life bad or good things. And that is kind of the point I guess, to learn. I'm glad you got out of using drugs:-) You seems to have an awesome mother <3 That is one of the most valuable things in life I think, I haven't got a very good relationship with my mother so I try to be that mother to my daughters instead.
Thanks for sharing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47