#24 Humans Of Steemit : @carn (A Young Man With A Love For Books And A Depth To Him You Don't Find Very Often)

24.png

To all who take the time to read these beautiful interviews, let me introduce you to the youngest steemian to have been featured on Humans Of Steemit!

Here is @carn

ENJOY!

Q&A

Let’s start this off ‘properly’. Who are you? Tell us anything and everything you’d like us to know about you!

Hey! My name’s Joel. I’m 17 and currently attending college for my Computer Information Systems degree (well, I’m currently on Christmas break). I have 7 younger siblings and cat and a dog. I love reading (history, fantasy, and scifi), computers, and animals. I’ll also play videogames when I have some spare time. I work in my college’s library shelving books and making sure they are in the right order (and yes, it is boring). People who know me probably get tired of how much I talk, while people who don’t know me think I’m very reserved.

What makes your heart smile?

Babies. What person doesn’t smile when they see a cute baby?

How did you get onto Steemit?

I was googling information about cryptocurrency when I found an article on Steemit. The dollar amount at the bottom of the article caught my attention and I thought: “I have to give this a try.” I had tried blogging in the past, but no one ever visited my blog and I wasn’t good at writing about just one topic. While not many people have viewed my Steemit articles, I’ve gotten more “reaction” on Steemit then I ever did on my blog.

Where do you want to die?

In a hospital preferably. It seems like the safest place to die and less trouble for your loved ones after you die (if you don’t factor in paperwork).

What’s something you DON’T like about all this new technology?

As the Internet has become more accessible, more and more people look at it as a way to get rich quick. This has lead to a lot of low quality work on the web. I’ve fallen in love with Steemit, but it does have a lot of spam which makes it hard for new Steemians to get noticed.

What mistake do you keep making and why?

I don’t study as much as I should for tests. My attention wanders and, since I normally do my studying on my computer, the Internet is a big distraction.

Imagine that you magically have the ability to keep being alive without sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

Read novels. But I have a feeling that this ability would give me too much time and I would run out of books fast. I’d either start sleeping again or get crazy depressed because I’m not able to sleep. Those 8 hours would be very boring without any people to talk to…

What makes your belly ache with laughter?

Normally things that I find funny. The most recent thing I can remember laughing at is the web serial The Experiment. The line? “I have a car again! Top of the list, easily. It’s the American dream. The attendant debt is also part of the dream, I suppose. Americans have weird dreams, when you get right down to it.”

Tell us about 1 significant event in your life that really made you who you are.

Buying Minecraft. I bought Minecraft because it looked like the sort of game I would enjoy: creative and open ended. After a few months I got into mods, then taught myself Java so I could code a mod. Now I’m studying for a Computer Info Degree because of Minecraft. I wonder if I would have chosen the same career if I had never played Minecraft.

What would be the scariest monster you could imagine?

Hmm, a 5-foot humanoid with bulletproof gray-black scales and jet black eyes, that is very fast and likes blades.

What does Steemit mean for you?

It’s a way to improve my writing and share it, while earning money to help with my college bill (or upgrade my laptop).

What would you like your last meal to be?

I’m just going to take this as “What is your favorite meal?” and that’d be popcorn shrimp.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

Scott, I just like the sound of it. Of course, if I was called Scott then I might want another name…

Which person inspires you the most and why do they inspire you?

Well, I try to inspire myself to do all sorts of things but that doesn’t work out very well. I don’t really have one specific person but people like Mark Zuckerberg and Brandon Sanderson are inspiring because they’ve become famous from what they’ve done with minimal resources and their brain.

What are you insecure about?

Intruding on people. I love people, and once I get to know people I’ll talk their heads off. Meeting people is hard for me though, because just walking up to someone and introducing myself makes me feel like I’m intruding. If they’re sitting next to me in class then I’ll talk to them, but when we’re not in class and I don’t know them very well, I feel like it would be intruding to approach them.

Describe your ideal life.

A big house stocked with books, animals, smart gadgets, and friends to invite over (they don’t necessarily have to come with the house).

Have you ever saved someone’s life?

Nope, unless it’s by letting other people do the cooking.

What do other people think is weird about you?

That I love reading and computers so much. I still haven’t found another person that likes both.

What do you think is one of the best things about you?

I love talking to people… though that can also be one of the worst things about me.

If you had a personal flag, what would be on it?

A black silhouette of a hawk’s head over a white background.

If a genie granted you 3 wishes right now, what would you wish for?

Enough money that I could stay at college as a dorm student instead of in my parents that is a 20 min drive from the college, free copies of everyone of Brandon Sanderson’s published and to-be-published books, and a Golden Retriever (preferably friendly).

What do you think about when you’re by yourself?

I think about books I’ve read and try to think up magic systems for a book I want to write. I’ve fleshed out one idea so far but it’s a secret…

What would you want to be written on your tombstone?

Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination. (If Brandon Sanderson doesn’t mind)

What’s your favourite word?

Vellichor - the strange wistfulness of used bookstores filled with thousands of old books you'll never be able to read

Who is your fave (or one of your favourite) Steemians and why?

Well, I’m new, so I haven’t met to many people but I think it’s great how @mikepm74 is helping to welcome new Steemians with his upvotes and The Daily 5. As my favorite blogger, I’d pick @tamacvet. I enjoy all of her articles.

If you were arrested with no explanation, what would your friends and family assume you had done?

I can’t really imagine getting arrested for anything. My mom always says I’m to loud, so maybe disturbing the peace?

When you looked in the mirror first thing this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

My hair really needs to be combed…

What’s the most ridiculous fact you know?

People actually believe that the world is flat and NASA rules the world…
Also, almost every single phishing email you’ve ever received had bad grammar. Doesn’t that seem like a plot?

What is your nickname?

Offline I don’t have one – everyone calls me by my normal name. Online I go by Carn, Sundavrgarm, and Special Elf Friend (and the abbreviations Sundavr and Elf). Carn and Sundavrgarm are both from The Inheritance Cycle, though Sundavrgarm was constructed by me from the Ancient Language. It means Shadow Wolf. (The only other person I’ve ever seen use it is a guy on Google Play Games. Maybe he copied it from me? Or did I create that account and forget all about it?)

As a Human Of Steemit, how do you contribute to Steemit?

I’ve just started out on Steemit, but I’m doing my best to create quality content and to support other’s work (which mean using the @OriginalWorks bot to upvote them 😉). Of course, I also do my fair share of flagging spam.

Fun Crazy Steemit Thing

Short Story entitled Memories

A man in a black combat uniform walked through the field. He stopped near a rusted tank and laid his hand on it. He stood there for a while looking off into the distance, then looked back at the tank. Then he slowly reached out and wiped the dust off the insignia. "Ace," he murmured, then turned and walked away, looking back only once.
He remembered that day. His platoon was fresh out of training and had been assigned their first mission to scout out enemy territory. They had rolled into an ambush. He closed his eyes and the scene flashed before him.
Ace, joking as he so often did; killed by the first shot that ripped his cockpit to pieces. Sniper, blown apart by a sniper. Scotty, rushing at the enemy and exploding in a brilliant light. Tim, flipped over and crushed. Carn firing round after round at the hidden enemy, torn apart by tracer bullets. The laser lancing out towards his own tank...
The man reached out and felt the jagged edges of the hole. It had torn apart his engine and knocked him unconscious, but he had survived. He had dragged himself out during the night. He was the only survivor.
The man heard a sound behind him and whirled around, yanking out his pistol. He relaxed when he saw it was only a fox that had made its home inside one of the empty tanks. The fox glared at this intruder then turned around and slunk back into its den.
The man looked around him again. It was so much like that time twenty years ago, but so different. The same green grass and wildflowers, but now six rusting tanks lay amid empty shell casings and shrapnel.
He looked back at the tanks, saluted, and walked away. The birds started singing.


## Aaah @carn, there is something very special about you.

For someone so young, you have so much depth and heart to you! It is very beautiful to see!

Thank you for being so open about yourself.
Thank you for showing your love for books.
Thank you for participating on Humans Of Steemit!


Go follow @carn!
This duderino is going to be doing beautiful things in the future.
I can feel it in my bones!


If you want to be featured on Humans of Steemit to combat the botty world online and to show your heart, get in touch with me!
@ashleykalila on steemit.chat and Discord.
Or send me an e-mail : [email protected]

If you want to support Humans of Steemit, please hit follow on this blog, upvote this post and if you really LOVE it, resteem it!
(But really only do that if you REALLY REALLY want to! I believe in a life where we only do what we want to do!)

Humans Of Steemit believes in You.
And so do I!

I had help with editing by the lovely @deadsparrow. He is a good dude.
You should go talk to him.

BIG love,

Ashley

@ashleykalila is my blog just in case you'd be interested to see what I write about!

Made by the wonderful @stellabelle

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

Wow amazing Humans Of Steemit what a great way to get to know people. Great to get to know @carn very inspiring young man

YES!
He is great :)
Thank you for being here!

Your welcome

Happy to see people, who loves books:D

Same, 'cause, people who love books give you book recommendations, and boy, you can never have enough of those! :)

Booklovers are THE best!

Wow what a bright kid!!! You remind me of my younger brother. By the way, reading isn't strange at all. Anyone who thinks you're weird for reading obviously hasn't picked up a book in their life.

It's not the reading itself, but the wide range of genres I enjoy that people I know don't understand. I don't know anybody (yet) who enjoys history, fantasy, scifi, and classics all at the same time. I know someone is out there though!

You do now. ;) As a ' more than human, never a machine' of Steemit I concur. voracious reading makes one a better writer, btw. It fuels the imagination in ways videos cannot. It teaches the building of realities. Keep at it! I agree, you are unique and precious.

Hear hear!!!!

What a fantastic idea @ashleykalila

Following and resteeming [upvoted already].

@carn ... what a lovely guy! I really enjoyed reading your interview, learning a new word, resonating with someone who was also called 'too loud' and told to pipe down [I'm a 'chatterbox' too and it wasn't always appreciated in my family.]
I liked your writing very much. I want to read on ...

Thanks deary! :)

This is my Steemit loveproject!
Makes me one happy bee!!!!

Definitely follow @carn, he is going to do good things for the community!

😄. It’s an inspired loveproject ❤️
I followed @carn, joined his book club and accidentally flagged his post all in one day 🧐 eek!

This is amazing and i LOVE it! Can’t wait to read more. Guess I’m staying up late tonight 😏

I didn't mention it in the interview, but if you share my love of books please check out my project to make more books free for everyone at @steemitbooks.

And thanks again @ashleykalila! Some of those questions were a lot of fun to think through and made me see some things I had never seen before :)

@carn, send me over any latest links and i'll resteem them on the @Humansofsteemit acc. :)

Aaaah I am happy they made an impact!
That's what it's all about

Will do! The current one is here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54