#20 Humans Of Steemit : @melbookermusic (A Man Who Has Dedicated His Life To Music!)

20.png
Good day to all of the World Of Steem!

The human behind this post has dedicated his life to music and it's pretty damn amazing to see.

Say hello to @melbookermusic

ENJOY!

Q&A

Who are you?

Mel Booker, from Southern California ( by way of Texas) :-)
I own a music school, Mel Booker Music in Lancaster CA, and play music professionally. I have been a self employed musician since 1993. Originally, I wanted to play football (American). Injuries, did not allow for that, so I began to pursue music.
Currently in a band called KING, which plays a blend of Blues,Funk & Rock.

What makes your heart smile?

As a guitar instructor, I love to see my students accomplish their goals. Most of the students who go through our Music School are musicians for life. I also enjoy talking about achievement and success. The lessons I learned while becoming a business owner, and doing music full time can be passed on and benefit others.

How did you get onto Steemit?

Quite by accident LOL :-) Everyone has these stories about how their friend showed it to them, and begged them to get on. Maybe they hesitated for a while, then finally pulled the trigger. Not me :-) I was starting to study crypto. Watching a lot of videos from Heidi on the Cryptotips youtube Channel (one of my favorites), and Amanda B. Johnson on the various channels she had. I also watched some of Jeff Berwick’s videos. I was looking to invest in cryptos, but was not sure which. Finally I came across the cryptotips video where Heidi mentions steemit. After investigating, I thought “I’m gonna do this.” There is no fee, and I’m already “spending” a lot of time I don’t have on Facebook, Youtube, and Instagram. Thus began the journey.

Where do you want to die?

That’s a tough one.
I grew up in Texas, and still consider it my home, even though I have been in California since about 1988. But, I guess as long as I die “in motion” anywhere will be ok. I have already accepted that I will probably die with this guitar in my hand LOL. :-)

What’s something you DON’T like about all this new technology?

I think technology is great as a whole. I do think that tech companies, app developers etc. should always remember to have people on their team who are the opposite. A great company needs both types of minds: creative as well as technical.

What mistake do you keep making and why?

Hmm… maybe that would be, esp in the past, not thinking about rest. We spent a lot of time, building the company, and at the same time taking care of autistic children. There was never enough hours in the day. So, you just go, and keep going. For me, rest was usually out of the question ( I just wrote about this https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@melbookermusic/color-challenge-thursday-green-and-the-road-to-achievement )
Now though I still have those habits, and I’m NOT getting any younger :-)

Is there anything you wish you could unlearn?

Actually, that has been part of my life for some time now. I went through a period of questioning everything, and just going for the facts. I rejected the left-right paradigm, and began looking for the truth. I wish I would have unlearned a lot of these things sooner.

If there was something you could un-do, what would it be?

I’m sure there are lots. I guess one would be to not have started studying money, and economics so late in life. I did take Economics in college, but most of it was useless.

Imagine that you magically have the ability to keep being alive without sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

Keep playing and creating! That would be awesome. I hate sleeping, but I realize I have to-bummer :-)

What’s the stupidest thing you’ve done that actually turned out pretty well?

Dropped out of college to pursue music and then business. I don’t regret it one bit. By normal standards, this was the worst thing to do, it was a big risk. In certain situations, however, you may not need college. Maybe it’s a skill, or trade, or starting a business.

What makes your belly ache with laughter?

I watch comedies every chance I get. The ones that really get me Every Time is:
Rush Hour (All)
Barber Shop (All)
Private Eyes
Be Cool

Tell us about 1 significant event in your life that really made you who you are.

Well, there isn’t just one, but let’s just say I, like many, am driven when I think of my childhood-and I’ll leave it at that.

What would be the scariest monster you could imagine?

Hmm… any monster that’s a carnivore. :-)

What does Steemit mean for you?

Steemit has become, for me the ultimate social media site. The community is great, and most of us are connected only through Steemit. Unlike Facebook for instance. Many people there were already friends before joining. It is also my introduction to crypto, as my bitcoin knowledge came after steemit.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

I have never considered it. Growing up playing football, last names were always used. So, “Booker” would make a great first name I think.

Which person inspires you the most and why do they inspire you?

Musically: Prince.
Risk Taking
Blending of Styles-Nothing is off limits
Genius -yet humble

What are you insecure about?

My guitar playing. There are so many things I wish I was better at-it’s a never ending journey.

Describe your ideal life.

Right now it’s putting systems in place so my business runs itself. I would like to create on the go even more. I see many steemians who travel and blog. I would like to travel, blog, AND make music with other steemians - that would be awesome. So thats what I am working towards. Next goal 65 reputation score, ultimate goal 70.

Have you ever saved someone’s life?

No I haven’t - that I know of.

What do other people think is weird about you?

Everything really :-) But I am extremely tunnel visioned, I mostly think about music 24-7

What do you think is one of the best things about you?

I like to teach, I think I have done pretty well in my teaching endeavors. I have had compliments on this, so let’s go with that one.

What’s one responsibility you really wish you didn’t have?

Well maybe it was taking out the trash lol - but my son does it now.

If you had a personal flag, what would be on it?

A Lion, for sure. I imagine it to look somewhat like a rasta flag would.

If a genie granted you 3 wishes right now, what would you wish for?

No more Autism Spectrum Disorders
No more Autism Spectrum Disorders
No more Autism Spectrum Disorders

What do you think about when you’re by yourself?

Mainly what if’s.

What would you want to be written on your tombstone?

Maybe that I cared about people? Maybe that I inspired people?Never thought about that one.

Who is the person you trust most?

Well, more than one person. My brothers.

What’s your favourite word?

I think, at the moment, it must be Steemit. :-)

Who is your fave (or one of your favourite) Steemians and why?

@surfermarly She is very inspiring. She is always getting things done (lots of things) - I love that. :-) I want to continue to learn how to be a great blogger, and to me, she is a great example of this.

If you were arrested with no explanation, what would your friends and family assume you had done?

They would assume that I had been in the wrong place at the wrong time. True That.

When you looked in the mirror first thing this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I HATE MORNINGS LOL! I make myself do it, because I want to be successful, BUT, it doesn’t mean that I’m a morning person. I prefer musician hours. :-)

What’s the most ridiculous fact you know?

OMG I have no ridiculous facts!! Is that bad? :-) Maybe I do have some buried in my brain somewhere, but just forgot them.

What is something that you just recently realized that you are embarrassed you didn’t realize earlier?

I remember the first time a young man called me “OG” (that’s slang for “Sir” now). At first I was like “Wait, that kid just called me OG.” Then I was like, Wait, I’m old now?” :-) How did that happen? So, I have to get used to OG LOL, but that does not entail, slowing down at all. I will be “in motion” until my dying day.

What is your nickname?

Back to sports. Most of my friends called me by my last name growing up: Booker. Which started with football.

As a Human Of Steemit, how do you contribute to Steemit?

I blog about achievement quite a bit. I found that the school of hard knocks is a good teacher. All of my lessons, which I am still learning, have come from experience. I have come to realize that along with spreading music, I am also here to encourage others in any way that I can. Many people do not have the chance to have a mentor. I have found Steemit to be the best platform to share the things that I have learned in the past, and new things that I’m sure to deal with in the future. I mentioned in my blog before, that we built a music school with:

No Money
No Experience
No Business Degree

I want people to see that they can follow their passions, despite the “hard knocks” that are sure to come.

Hopefully my Steemit reflects that.

Fun Crazy Steemit Thing

Seen as Mel didn't add a Fun Crazy Steemit thing, I choose something for him!
(Hope you don't mind Mel ;) )

Look at him ripping up the guitar!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=21&v=hAr7y1iXiQw

Ah Mel, it's SO beautiful to see how in love with music you are!

I didn't know about you helping out the Autistic community! What a great iniative.
I'd love to know more about this! :)

Thank you for being an inspiration to Steemians (esp the ones who are making music their life)
Thank you for being a constant source of great content on Steemit!
Thank you for participating on Humans Of Steemit!

Y'all should go and follow this wonderful dude @melbookermusic and be an ACTIVE participant on his blog cos he is pretty damn cool!


If you want to be featured on Humans of Steemit to combat the botty world online and to show your heart, get in touch with me!
@ashleykalila on steemit.chat and Discord.
Or send me an e-mail : [email protected]

If you want to support Humans of Steemit, please hit follow on this blog, upvote this post and if you really LOVE it, resteem it!
(But really only do that if you REALLY REALLY want to! I believe in a life where we only do what we want to do!)

Humans Of Steemit believes in You.
And so do I!

I had help with editing by the lovely @deadsparrow. He is a good dude.
You should go talk to him.

BIG love,

Ashley

@ashleykalila is my blog just in case you'd be interested to see what I write about!

Made by the wonderful @stellabelle

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

What a fun feature. Talented too! Will be sure to check out the blog. As someone that is not much of a risk taker, always fun to read about successes in taking the leap of faith and pursuing something out of passion.

Hope it gives you inspiration to take your own leaps of faith in life dear :)

Yes, take that leap! 😊 You can only miss out on chances you did not take. Much success to you!!

Thank You @humansofsteemit and @ashleykalila !!! This is so cool, and very much appreciated!! :-)

hehe

I am happy you did it Mel!

You are such a good guy

Kewl!! @deadsparrow seems like a very interesting and cool guy!

Do you mean cool?? ;)

I may have half woken up in time half understand enoigh to blarggg this responss of appreciative nonsense.

Congratulations @humansofsteemit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Check out FreakJuice on YT!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68652.07
ETH 3861.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70