The Humanity

in #humanity8 years ago

 I’ve heard this expression a number of times, but I’ve never really understood what it was supposed to mean.It’s usually used to indicate (sarcastically) that something is a tragedy. Most recently, I was telling a friend (in email) that it was such a nice evening I’d planned to sit on the deck to do my Spanish homework but discovered that I’d left it at work so instead I grabbed the novel I’ve been reading and a glass of wine and spent the evening reading.He responded with, “Oh, the humanity…” (in quotes) followed by a >:->Where does the expression come from? Why “humanity”? It kind of has the feel of a pop-culture reference but I feel like I’m completely missing the connection. 

 My guess is that is was popularized by the Herbert Morrison report on the Hindenburg disaster in which he cries out “Oh, the humanity.”I believe it originally comes from “Bartleby, the Scrivener” (1853), a short story by Herman Melville. At least I think this is the original line, and not a reference to another older line. The last words are:

Dead letters! does it not sound like dead men? Conceive a man by nature and misfortune prone to a pallid hopelessness, can any business seem more fitted to heighten it than that of continually handling these dead letters and assorting them for the flames? For by the cart-load they are annually burned. Sometimes from out the folded paper the pale clerk takes a ring:—the finger it was meant for, perhaps, moulders in the grave; a bank-note sent in swiftest charity:—he whom it would relieve, nor eats nor hungers any more; pardon for those who died despairing; hope for those who died unhoping; good tidings for those who died stifled by unrelieved calamities. On errands of life, these letters speed to death.
Ah Bartleby!  Ah humanity!
Sort:  

Nice post and very intriguing. Always took it myself to be something point to the flaws of human condition

Great article!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.1 and reading ease of 63%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49