The Individual

I’m a curious person. I’ve always had a tendency to overthink things. I’ve been told I think too much. In my opinion most think too little. But it is not uncommon for me to get lost down a rabbit hole. I’m the type of person that needs to know the truth. I need to drill down to the little details and understand what makes things tick. I don’t know why I have this desire but I assume it’s genetic, something to do with my archetype. This behavior I exhibit is not uncommon and I think it can be easy to understand how this behavior can be evolutionarily advantageous.

Anyways I went to university and started off wanting to be a nuclear physicist. I truly believe nuclear energy is the solution to the world’s energy problems, and just to be clear on this matter I do not support the light water reactors in use across North America. Look to Low Energy Nuclear Reactions (LENR), molten salt reactors and magnetic confinement fusion.

So I get to university and jump into some seemingly insane math courses and didn’t do well. Struggled with some exam anxiety and ultimately had trouble making the connection between mathematics and reality. Ended up taking a social psychology course along the way and my mind was blown. Human behavior has always fascinated me, as I’m a curious person. It clicked, it made sense, and I liked it.

I started studying psychology primarily. I came to the realization that to understand human behavior I need to understand the human brain. Too understand the human mind I had to switch programs as it is human cells that make up the human brain and I wasn’t going to learn about cells in psych courses. Ultimately I majored in the biological sciences and many of my favorite parts of the journey were when I struggled to understand the complexity of the cell.

I think that one reason I want to study cellular collective motion/behavior for the purposes of understanding the human collective is because it keeps things objective. It is very easy for me to be emotionally detached from some bacteria. I can literally look down upon a massive colony of cells in a very omniscient way. I cannot possibly view the entire human population in this way for a variety of reasons.

I want to dig right in, I’m kinda pumped to get learning. I’ve decided that the place to start is with something called Quorum sensing.

Next post i'm going to layout somewhat of a basic guide or table of contents. A rough outline of several topics I want to cover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93