Tumbling stones (quartz) or glass

in #howtoweekly6 years ago (edited)

Ive been asked how to polish various stones. I dont do it very often because it is a long process and takes about a month to get one batch done. Each week you have to change out your different grades of sand. But the end result is worth it. This is my Maui quartz ( we call them maui diamonds) after a month of tumbling.
FB_IMG_1527952874854.jpg

So this is how they look raw.
20180602_111817.jpg

This is after the first week of tumbling. They will slowly start to get shiny, but remember that they are being sanded down to get to this polished stage. So try to tumble larger stones because they will lose about half to a quarter of the original size.
FB_IMG_1527952835293.jpg

This after about 3 weeks and 3 different sands used.
FB_IMG_1527952863481.jpg

These are some rocks i found one spring while visiting family in Oregon 🧡 . Most of them i had no idea what color they were till about 2 weeks into tumbling.
20180602_111653.jpg

This is the little tumbler i got from my aunty in Oregon. She ordered it as a birthday gift from Amazon for me . It came with one set of starter sand to do one full cycle. And some raw quartz. I still havent tumbled them because i like to use things i have found personally.

Now remember to read the instructions when you get it, because it can be noisy and it has to stay on for a full month 24/7 so i use to keep mine in my craft room, so the noise wouldnt drive everyone crazy lol. Rocks rolling all day can drive u nuts if your trying to watch TV etc.
20180602_113209.jpg

You can tumble broken glass or pottery as well . So keep the old broken plates or glasses for tumbling 💜💙. Something else to keep in mind if you can. Broken tiles work nice too . Well if anyone has any questions feel free to drop me a comment. 🌸aloha

20180512_125008.jpg

#beautiful #maui #travel #hawaii #love #aloha #howtoweekly #glass #crafts #handmade #seaglass #ocean #beach #jewelry #nature #rocks #stones #quartz #crystals

Sort:  

@carey-page here is the tumbling blog i did just for you 🧡

I absolutely love it. Thank you so much. Is there ever a difference between before and after. I didn't know they make so much noise. Also I didn't know that you could polish them for different stages of polishing . That is so cool.

Yes if u look at the pictures i labeled them raw and each steps etc.

I was wondering what you did to get some things so shiny. Wasn't sure if you just polished them like we would with wood. Interesting stuff. I bet it would drive people nuts with the sound but too bad for them :p

Most of my things are naturally shiny, i only tumble the quartz that i use in my work. Its been a while since ive tumbled anything these are pictures i had from a while ago with the exception of the raw quartz and tumbler those i took today.

Thanks for your submission but due to low interest we have closed the contest permanently.

These look so shiny and attractive. And the difference between before and after is crazy. I literally thought they were normal stones When I saw the before pic. 💖💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65