How to prepare Jollof Rice. #A special recipe...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #howtofriday6 years ago

I am happy to participate in this contest....

Cooking is also my thing, yes because I naturally love good and tasty meals and I would like to share a recipe I learn while working in a restaurant. Jollof rice is a meal that is enjoyed by most west Africans. It is prepared for parties and ceremonies because is a generally accepted meal in west Africa. I am a Nigerian and I would do my best to show all the ingredients needed and the process involved in preparing Jollof rice.

*ingredients *

 Vegetable oil

Tomatoes

Rice

Red pepper

 Seasoning 

Curry powder

Sweet corn

Green peas

Onion

Cray fish

Spice( Maggi or any)

Liver or kidney( goat or cattle)

Bay leaves.

*Process*

Par boil your rice for between 30-40mins depending on the heat temperature.

 Drain out water

Vegetable oil on a pan and allow to heat for 2minutes

Add your chopped onions and allow to fry for 2 -3 minutes

Add your COMBINATION( explained below)

 Allow to fry for 7-10mins

Add your chicken/ beef stock( explained bellow)

Add your spice, curry powder, bay leaves,seasoning to taste.

Allow to boil for 5 minutes

Add parboiled rice the allow to cook.

When it is ready I.e dried up add processed cray fish.

Before you dish out add sweet corn, green peas and chopped fried liver/kidney.

*Combination*

Blend tomatoes, onion and pepper in the ratio of 6:1:3.

 Boil until its in paste form.

*Chicken Stock*

Boil washed chicken parts with spice, curry, salt ,onion and thyme.

Use the stock for the Jollof rice.

I  hope this helps.....

Written by @mosesogenyi and can consult me if you need to more about jollof rice or other African delicacies.....

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your entry! Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69084.83
ETH 3770.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52