Upcycled Old Furniture - Easy Portable Gypsy Seat

in #howto8 years ago

Hi Everyone! 

When doing a bit of Spring cleaning, I found some old things that I thought I would upcycle into something new. This literally took 20 minutes, and required barely any work. 

Because I used things lying around, you may not have all of the same items, but I will provide some alternative ideas so that you can recreate this.

It is completely portable, and looks lovely indoors and out. I think it would be great for kids and parties too. 

This is what I used:

  • An old pouf cushion (beanbag chair)
  • An old bug net
  • A white sheet
  • Safety pins
  • Cushions

The process:

I took this nasty old beanbag chair, and cleaned it up as best I could. You could also use a large cushion, a detachable  sofa cushion, or even just a blanket if you want more of a picnic area.

I didn't like the colour, and I wanted something more elegant looking, so I covered it with a white sheet. if you want something more permanent to cover the seat you decide to use, you can sew it on, but if you just want to use it for a little while, use safety pins to pin the sheet down and in place.

I took an old mesh mosquito net that used to be above my bed, and hung it outside. If you don't have one, you can always make one out of lace, or find one at the thrift store. You can hang it from the roof indoors or on a porch, or on a tree branch. The options are endless, just be creative with it. I tucked the ends under the chair, which you can also do with a cushion. If you are using a blanket, you could make a square frame out of plywood and tuck the netting under the frame to hold it down, then just cover it with the blanket.

Next just throw on some pillows and maybe a small blanket. Personalize it however you like. You can hang fairy lights up or sew flower garlands to the netting. Whatever you like. 

The last step is to sit back, relax, and pose majestically for a photo. 

It is the perfect space for curling up with a book, and the netting will keep bugs out.

Beware though, it may be taken over by your cats if you have any. They love things like this.

I hope you enjoyed this quick DIY, let me know if you are going to try it out!

Follow me @yogidream.scapes for more!

Have a dope day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13