How to cut a fringe from home + an OOTD!

in #howto7 years ago

Hi everyone!

Here is a quick tutorial on how to cut straight-across bangs! Whether you can't make it to a salon, or don't have the cash, here is an easy way to add something new to your look from home!

20180109_144045.pngf25a98f60d005ea1e96d5b15c183b357.jpg

Let's Begin!

Step One

Make sure you start off with clean hair, so wash and condition! I'm using these Lee Stafford products, to be honest I like them mostly for how they smell, but they are very good for keeping my hair moisturized, and that's key to maintaining healthy, beautiful hair!

Screenshot_20180109-150451.png

Sometimes if I'm feeling fancy and want extra hydration, I'll do a hair mask too, but that's totally optional.

Screenshot_20180109-150208 (2).png

Step Two

Make sure you dry and style your hair before you begin cutting. Style your hair however you want to wear it with your bangs when they are done. For me, this step entails straightening my hair, because naturally I have VERY curly hair. I have a tutorial on my page if you'd like to look at that, explaining how to straighten curly hair, and there you can also see the texture I'm working with.

When your hair is how you want it, use the back of a comb (a rat tail/sectioning comb would help a lot here, but I don't have one!)
Try not to use too big of a section, you don't want to chop off all the hair at the front of your head!

Screenshot_20180109-150139.png

My hair is already cut, so it's pretty much already sectioned, so you'd probably have a lot more pieces to fix to get an even curve if you haven't got a fringe already, but just pull out pieces with the comb or with your fingers, until you have a clear lined section.

Screenshot_20180109-150039.png

It should look something like this.

Screenshot_20180109-145906.png

Pull all the hair forward and make sure you're happy with the amount. take note, the higher the curve is, the bigger your forehead will look, so don't make it too high!

Screenshot_20180109-145722.png

Step Three

Now for the cutting process! EEK!

Start off by taking the two peace fingers (middle finger and forefinger) of the hand you cut with, so if you are right handed, use that hand! grab the hair between the two fingers like so.

Screenshot_20180109-145650.png
Yes I know I never know what to with my face in pics.. don't judge!
Screenshot_20180109-145006.png

Alright, so at this stage, you will be holding the hair with the right hand, and your nails will be pointing towards the left (this will be the opposite if you are left handed)
What you do next, is turn your hand while still holding the hair, so that your nails are pointing towards your nose, as shown below.

Screenshot_20180109-144926.png

Then, take the left hand's two peace fingers, and use them to firmly grip the hair, nails of the left hand also pointing towards the nose. Again, this will be the other way around if you are left handed. let go of the hair with the right hand, and turn the fingers of the left hand, while still holding onto the hair, to face the right.

Screenshot_20180109-144858.png

Screenshot_20180109-144759.png

Screenshot_20180109-144718.png

Make sure that the fingers of you left hand are straight, as you will be using them as a guide to cut straight. Now pick up the scissors with your right hand, and cut a straight line under your fingers. Always cut the fringe longer than what you want it. You can cut more off later but you can't put more hair back on!

Screenshot_20180109-144638.png
Please don't use scissors like the pair I am demonstrating with! These are ratchet old craft scissors and are way too blunt to give a good cut. (Although I must admit I have used them a couple times when I was in a pinch and in need of a quick trim.. Do not recommend!) You can find good hair sheers at any beauty supply store, the sharper the scissors the better the cut!

Cut a straight line, and when you are happy with the length let the hair go, and you will see that it has a curve; the hairs in the middle, right above the eyebrows, are shorter than the hairs closer to the ears(as shown below). This removes some of the bluntness and makes it more flattering to the face.

Screenshot_20180109-144458.png

Step Three

Now that the cut is done, the hair may look a little straw-like and awkward if you have a similar hair texture to mine. This is where the styling comes in.

Use a straightener to straighten little sections of the fringe, and as you get to the end, curl the straightener towards the face so that the hairs curve towards the face at the ends. This will further remove bluntness and give a softer look.
You can also use a hair dryer and a round brush too curl the hair towards the face.

Screenshot_20180109-144328.png

The smaller the sections, the more polished the look will be.

Screenshot_20180109-144242.png

Lastly, run a comb or brush through the hair to give it a smooth finish.

Screenshot_20180109-144153.png

And there you have it!

20180109_144008.png

I hope you liked this tutorial, here is my OOTD(Outfit of the day)

It's 90's grunge inspired, as most of my outfits are!

20180109_170531.jpg

20180109_170643.jpg

If you'd like to see more of my OOTD's and more daily life type things, feel free to check out and follow my instagram account! https://www.instagram.com/unclejjjimmy/

Thanks so much for reading! Let me know if you try it out and how it turns out!

Check out my page @yogidream.scapes for more!

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Your attempts always turn out perfect. I was to attempt it, I'd probably end up cutting off all my hair!!!

Great tutorial! I have one on YouTube on how to cut sidebangs 😋. It’s interesting to see people’s different techniques! I loved the hair tutorial, I cut my bangs in a similar way. Loved the outfit of the day too! Overall you were just slaying 💃🏻

Thankk yyouuu!😁😁😁 really?😱 I didn't see the older tutorials on your channel, I'll go check it out as soon as my wifi is fixed😂 you have bangs? Thats so cool 😱😂 thank you for the sweet compliments!

Yeah I have slight side bangs but not anything too noticeable 😀. Pleasure girl!

I used to like girl having fringe, lol....it is one of my Achilles heels.........now, you are gonna teacher a lot of them,...then I will loose concentration of my life,lol......nice hair cut you have though😘

Haha thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63062.73
ETH 2687.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54