Easy DIY Painted Garden Stones

in #howto8 years ago

Hello Steemians!

Yes, it is I, the ever elusive @yogidream.scapes.
This past month has been hectic, I just finished with finals, so I am officially out of school and unemployed I guess. 

I bet you missed the cynicism. 

I was also preparing for a craft market, which took place  this past weekend.( I will hopefully have some pictures of that in an  upcoming post.) One of the crafts I made were these adorable painted  garden stones, and while I was busy with them we took some pictures  because it is such a simple way to add a personal touch to any garden  and I just had to share it. 

I painted many different designs, but this tree is definitely one of the best. It is so simple and quick to do.

What You Need:

* Paint in whatever colours you like.

* Paint brushes, one medium sized, and one thin brush.

* An old rag or cloth.

* Rounded garden stones in any colour.

How To Do It:

*  Start by dampening the cloth and wipe any residue off of the stone.  This will help to reduce chipping and will give a clean surface for the  paint to bond to.

* Next take a paint colour of your choice and  paint a rough circle over about two thirds of the stone. It doesn't have  to be perfect, that is the beauty of these stones. Nothing has to be  perfect.

* Leave the stones to dry completely. Once dry, you can  start with the outlines, I used black, but you can use any colour  really. If you are using darker coloured stones, a lighter colour will  look better for the outline and vice versa. 

* To create the  trunk, start off with a semi circle at the base, and paint a line going  almost all the way up the coloured circle. taper the line out as you get  closer to the top for a more elegant look.


* To make the  branches, all you have to do is paint wavy lines coming off of the  trunk. Space them out well, so that you have room to add more, smaller  branches coming off of the bigger branches. Any random configuration  will look pretty.

* Add a few little dots around the base of the trunk to finish it off and make the tree look more abstract.

And there you have it! simple, and a great way to add some colour to your garden during the winter. 

I hope you liked this DIY, let me know what you think, and if you're gonna try it!

Thanks for reading, follow me @yogidream.scapes for more!

Have a great day.

Photos taken by @thatguyjono, who takes the majority of my pictures. Gotta love him!

Sort:  

I hope you did well at the craft market! It's nice when nature provides the canvas for painting, like the rocks!

thank you so much! I totally agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70