Easy Diy Jewellery Cleaner - Only Three Household Ingredients

in #howto8 years ago

image

Hi There!

If you are here, you are probably aware of the fact that getting jewellery professionally cleaned, or buying the kits, can be very expensive.

Personally, I ain't about that life, man.

After some research, I found that cleaning them at home can give very similar results, and if you clean your jewellery often, this may be a good choice for you; so let's do this!

What You Need:

  • A bowl
  • Boiling water
  • Two teaspoons of baking soda
  • Aluminum foil
  • A bit of dish soap

The Process:

  • Begin by selecting the jewellery you want to clean. I will be cleaning all of my sentimental pieces as well as the pieces I wear very often. You can see just by looking at them that they are very dull and need a good clean.
    image

  • Take your bowl, and place the aluminum foil all around the inside. I didn't have some with me, so I just used aluminum tartlet cases and they worked perfectly.
    image

image

  • Squeeze in a little bit of regular dishwashing soap, and add in the baking soda.
    image

image

  • To that, add the boiling water. Do not over fill because it will all come bubbling out.
    image

  • Place your jewellery into the bowl, and make sure it is fully submerged. Leave it in for 10 to 15 minutes,and stir them around every few minutes to make sure each side of the piece has had a chance to touch the foil; to loosen dirt particles and prevent the baking soda from settling.
    image

  • After they have soaked, dip a soft toothbrush or Q-tip into the liquid and gently polish each piece to get rid of any remaining dirt.
    When I came back to the bowl after the last few minutes, I could see lot's of little pieces of dirt (gross!) in the bowl, so this showed that the method really did help.

image

image

  • After scrubbing the jewellery, rinse them off and dry them. You should see an immediate difference.

image

image

image

..And that's all she wrote!

Seriously. That's all. Now stop procrastinating and go clean your jewellery.

I hope you have a lovely day, thanks for reading, and as always, comments are appreciated!

image

Sort:  

Hey, im just letting you know ive got a free giveaway on my page if you want to get involved :) @sydneyboy