Steemit Blogging Tip: Organizing & Planning Posts

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

work-1515801_1280.jpg

Sometimes it can be difficult to come up with an idea for what to write about. A bit of planning in advance can really help you. I begin by brainstorming ideas. I think about subjects that really interest me, things that I think other people will enjoy reading about.

Before writing I ask myself

  • What do I know really well, what can I write about with authority?

  • What is my speciality (humour, fiction, gardening etc?)

  • What topics interest me?

  • What groups am I part of?

  • What can I write to add value to my groups?

I make a list of all of the topics that I want to write about. Once I have this list, I build upon it by writing down specific topics and post titles, within each category. A lot of people try to jam too much information into a single post. It is often better to break your content down into smaller more specific posts.

Break your areas of expertise into individual, specific posts like this:

Topic:

Roses

Post Titles:

How to Grow Roses
How to Make Rose Petal Jelly
How to Prune Rose Bushes
Ten Culinary Uses for Roses

Once I have this list I'll put the post titles in order, by month, to remind me of what's most appropriate to write about, and when. You don't want to be writing about roses in the middle of winter. It will befit your readers much more if you wait until spring to share that knowledge.

Tip: Once you've written all of of your posts on your chosen topic, you can put together a "round up" post that lists all of the articles that you have written. It's a nice value add.

Whenever I sit down to write I can look at my list, pick one of the topics for that month and get writing! It's a huge time saver.

Free Software

If you are looking for a free tool to help you organize your lists LibreOffice.org is a free open source software package that offers programs very similar to Microsoft Office (word processing, spreadsheets etc) but you can download it for free.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo Credit: Pixabay: image4you

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

Nice advice! Personally I've been torn between writing about what will interest most of the people in most of the groups I belong to (farming, homesteading etc.) and what I have most material for (photography, food & drinks etc.). I'm trying to balance the two out but it takes time getting into a rhythm. Anyway, articles like this are a good help!

Thanks for the feedback. I've taken to writing about what I know best, what I'm most passionate about. Although my posts fall into a variety of categories, in on one way or another most overlap a little bit (photography, homesteading, gardening, food). Sometimes I'll write something completely outside of my niche if I am feeling inspired. These are hit and miss but I still enjoy writing them. I have been reading about your journey in Japan, you've got some great experiences to share. I am really enjoying it. :)

Thanks for the kind words! I'll certainly be posting more about my farming journey here in Japan, interspersed with photos ans memories from my time in France. Look forward to reading more - and learning more - from you, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80