Use Windshield Reflector to Save Cooking Time, Energy

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

Max Burton Digital Stove to Go with windshield reflector wrapped around

Little vanlife tip ta make your boilin' more efficient: A reflector bounces back radiant heat and creates dead air space to reduce convection heat loss.

Don't matter what kinda stove ya use. Principle's the same.

That's why they sell aluminum heat reflectors for backpacking stoves. Same damn idea.

Only in this case, Vanholio's usin' his side window reflectors for the purpose. Ya could use aluminium foil or a piece a Reflectix, too. Don't fuckin' matter, so long as it reflects.

And Vanholio's cookin' in his 12v electric Max Burton Digital Stove to Go instead a some kinda gas stove. But energy's energy, and time's time.

Ain't much more ta say on this notion. The proof's in the puddin'. But the fellow in this here video proves it works like a real goddamn scientist.

Also See ...


This #vanlife #manifesto was originally posted at Vanholio.com. Also follow me here on Steemit @vanholio.
Sort:  

Is that stove all you use for cooking or do you have something else? Can it boil water in any reasonable time frame?

Yeah, that's pretty much all I use. I do have 2 little 12v kettles that do about a 1.5 liter each. They take about 20 minutes to boil. The stove in the photo takes quite a while, about 2 hours to cook 1.5 quart of rice. When I make stews and soups, I plan on about 3 hours. But I'm in no hurry. I'm either camped and patient or driving around and patient.

I'm idly considerin' makin' a solar oven out of my reflectors to bake. Found some cool plans today: http://solarcooking.wikia.com/wiki/Windshield_shade_solar_funnel_cooker

So you're all electric then. That's cool. I was looking at some induction stoves but they requires like 1500-2000 watts of power to run. That would mean a big battery bank and lots of solar plus the big load would probably kill the batteries faster. I'm leaning towards gas at the moment as I'd like something a bit faster than what you described but that's a good setup if you have the time.

The other problem with the 12v cooking is that a lot of cars fuses can't handle it. Technically, they should be in spec. But I've had problems. Blown fuses are easy and cheap to fix, but it's a hassle.

The stove in the photo now hooks into my house battery bank via a trolling motor plug, which works better than those cigarette lighter types.

Look up how to make a rocket stove out of small cans. You can cook with twigs.

The rocket stove sounds interesting. Have you built one? I previously saw the BioLite which looks like a type of rocket stove maybe? I think that uses a fan, not sure if the DIY ones do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55