Stop following the Dead....

in #howto6 years ago

At some point you need to let the dead move on, let them rest in peace.

tombstone-151525_1280.png

Not sure how active you are about your follow list, but I considered myself pretty good about removing dead accounts and dead weight. But after a quick review on a site designed by @sircork and the @noblewitness team I realized that I was indeed following a good number of dead accounts.

When you arrive at the site http://steem.agency/ it's pretty simple in design and finding what you are looking for is fairly simple.

a-snip1.PNG

Click on "Following The Dead" or just follow that link directly there. You will arrive at this screen:

a-snip2.PNG

Enter your steemit name and click go. (no steemit login info is needed)

Then you are going to get a list of the dead who you follow.

a-snip3.PNG

Now those numbers are after I used this tool and realized how useful it was. It showed me multiple accounts which have turned into vote selling factories, multiple accounts which are powering down, and some that are just MIA for 6+ months. Decided to hold onto a few who I had the most interactions with even though they might actually be dead accounts and that left me with those 14.

Unfollowing

Since I like to minimize my risk of stolen account keys I opened up a screen with all of my followers directly on steemit and then unfollowed them there. This also allowed me to look at their history and wallets to see what happened to them. There is an unfollow button, but I never tested that so not sure what happens there. If @sircork wants to chime in on that he can. To be clear I trust @sircork and know he isn't phishing for login info, but as a general rule I like to limit the places I use my keys as much as possible. Plus I liked being able to take a minute and review the actual profile I was unfollowing.

Have to Know...

So I unfollowed 15 accounts. How many dead accounts do you have and how many did you unfollow after reading this?

Sources, Image 1 - pixabay CCO no attribution required, Image 2,3,4 are screen shots of the actual website being discussed and already linked to.

Sort:  

Since I like to minimize my risk of stolen account keys I opened up a screen with all of my followers directly on steemit and then unfollowed them there. This also allowed me to look at their history and wallets to see what happened to them. There is an unfollow button, but I never tested that so not sure what happens there. If @sircork wants to chime in on that he can. To be clear I trust @sircork and know he isn't phishing for login info, but as a general rule I like to limit the places I use my keys as much as possible. Plus I liked being able to take a minute and review the actual profile I was unfollowing.

thank you for the trust! if you'd like, I'll keep your keys safe too ;)

My tools on the team @NobleWitness site use steemconnect ... like every single dapp on the chain basically. If you only use "steemit.com" - quite possibly the WORST app in the entire ecosystem, to do things, you are missing out on, well, everything...

steempeak
Vimm.tv
dTube
Zappl
dsound
steemvoter
steemauto
etc
etc
etc

I'm not sure why anybody would use a really bad, two year old interface that looks like it was cobbled together from 90s era open source forum software that has so many glaring errors and omissions it makes the Clinton family look wholesome and complete...

Good to know you are using steemconnect. It's the smart way to go, but IMO there still is always a risk each time you need to enter your keys so when I'm already logged in on steemit (or busy or esteem) there is no need to be logging in another time to do a function that can be done quickly without entering my key.

Everyone has their own opinions on what is a bad interface, what is an acceptable risk, and why they are here. Seriously I will never understand watching someone play a video game...but others love it. Just one of a ton of examples of what makes the steem blockchain great, there are so many different ways to access it and make it your own. This will only improve over time as more dApps are created.

Self voted to pin this relevant conversation request from your post...

If they are dead, they are not bothering me, I don't see much point in unfollowing people.

And maybe someday they'll return. Who knows?

The idea that they might return is why I kept some, but removed those who are powering down or already emptied their accounts.

If they return later and want to chat again they can drop a note on one of my posts. But why have cluttered list of people we follow when someone is sending their steem to bittrex.

Hey, @thedarkhorse.

It's alive! Alive!

I think rather than knowing if they've posted or voted period (that's what this information is, right?), I'd like to know when they're last interaction with me was—post, comment, upvote. That information would probably whittle down several more of my followers, even those there's nothing currently I could do about it.

As for those I follow—those I've manually culled. I like how these lists tell you who the dead are. That's an improvement over a previous dead followers version.

The list is at least useful to remove those who aren't interacting on steemit as a whole. Would be interesting to see a list of those that actually engage with you vs not at all. @sircork I think this might be a fun little tool to add.

😂 I've found it out a month ago, I followed 800++ accounts and 400++ were dead! So I unfollow them through steemit.com, I did the same like you do... and I have been following by 750+ zombies too

Oh the dead are all over all of our accounts. Nothing that can be done about that one. Maybe one day steemit will allow for removing followers from your account.

I hope so.. mute them all not working too 😂 but at least thanks to@sircork for providing this information😁 now I know who exactly my true followers

You are quite welcome! :D

You forgot to ask them about the lambo😉 Hi Cork how are you 🚗

I'm currently wasted on the coast of Peru in Lima, at SteemFiesta so I'm doing well, thank you for asking! How's you? :)

Still lurking around not in Lima but in boring but sunny Rotterdam ! But as a New minnow ✅

giphy.gif

I just saw this yesterday, but have it among my open tabs, waiting for a spare moment to have a closer look at it :)

I had 13 dead, but of that 13, I felt only three were not going to be back, January joiners that did not seem to of done very much. So down to 10 dead, a couple I know why, and a few it is their pattern.

You got a 36.95% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thedarkhorse!

Hi @thedarkhorse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.026 which ranks you at #3397 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 72 places in the last three days (old rank 3469).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have 883 dead accounts :O

It's pretty much all my followers !!! What am I gonna do?

Not a huge deal, but watch payout dates. Appreciate the upvote but was past payout so nothing gets paid to me.

If you are mainly dead accounts following you then you need to get out and engage more. Being realistic there are 200x dead accounts compared to each live account so it's very likely most people have a ton of dead accounts following them.

This is largely why people who claim to have 25k accounts they resteem to are just a scam IMO, sure 25k dead accounts and bots but how many real accounts with live people attached to them.

Well, just when I thought that I could get away with less work :)
Alright then , let's find some new friends, if there's any !

Happy Birthday by the way, a lil' late :) but I didn't know you 4 days ago!

Thanks for the bday wishes.

I just realized about the payout date, sorry not very smart from me. I upvoted your latest post instead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80