Wait! Don't throw out that Pineapple Top!

in #howto7 years ago

Next time you buy a fresh pineapple from the supermarket...

life of the party pineapple grow your own pineapple from scratch.jpg
(photo credit to Elena Cordery on Unsplash)

WAIT!!

Don't throw out that top part!

(yes, the part that everyone throws out)....

...With a little perseverance

...A little dirt

...And a little muscle (when I mean a little muscle, all you need to do is gently twist off the pineapple top

You can grow your OWN PINEAPPLE from scratch!

(Or at least be the talk of the party at your next get together!)



Items needed:

  • A fresh pineapple
  • A small pot with potting soil


What to do:

  • Gently twist off the top of pineapple

  • Peel off the first few layers of leaves from the top, exposing the roots (don't peel them ALL the way!)

  • Gently set it into your pot, with the soil only covering the roots
    (You don't want to get root rot by burying it deeply into the soil)

  • Pineapples don't like a very big pot at first, so keep the pot small
    (don't worry, it'll outgrow the pot eventually so transplant it into the bigger pot then)

  • Water every so often (to avoid root rot)

  • Watch your pineapple flourish

  • To actually get your pineapple to fruit will take 2 -3 years....

  • DON'T FRET

  • You'll have a lovely masterpiece in the meantime

  • Patience is key

  • I'm sure you'll be showing your pineapple off in the meantime

Here's an awesome video on the instructions above

(since I'm also a visual learner)

Enjoy!

Have fun!



Thanks for allowing me to share all this lovely stuff with everyone!
If you liked it, will try it,
or just want to say hello,
I'd love to hear from you!

Sort:  

Great explanation of how to grow pineapple heads. Unless you follow this method, it will be very difficult to plant a pineapple head.

hey nice post...(please follow and upvote i will do the same for you)

Hey thanks! Done! Upvoted one of your posts! (Man, how many do you post in a day?)

never counted but more then 50

Nice post!
I will try it!
Upvoted!

Thanks!! Post a pic when you do! I'd love to see it!

For sure follow me and see!!

I never thought about doing that! That sounds like a fun summer project to try with my daughter. I followed you and discovered you from the Steemit Superstars Facebook group. Thought I would check out your posts and say hello. Check me out @legosnjoysticks.

Definitely a fun project!! Let me know how it goes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95