Sunscape's Creations - A How to tutorial on making chunky applesauce to enjoy all winter long. Yummy!

in #howto8 years ago

How To Make Chunky Applesauce

Four varieties of apples

Purchase a variety of apples, whichever you happen to like will do fine. I chose Gala, Cortland, 20 Ounce and Golden Delicious apples for my sauce.

Wash the apples

I prefer to wash them before I peel them, it does'nt take much time to give them a good rinse.

Peel and core your apples, then chop into smaller pieces.

Place into a large kettle with about 3/4 cup of water. Sprinkle approximately 1/4 cup of sugar per pound of apples or enough to sweeten to your liking. I only used 3 1/2 cups for 24 pounds of apples for this batch. I found them sweet enough to hold back on the amount of sugar many recipes recommend.

Cook your apples on low - medium heat, making sure to stir them often. When your sauce is at the desired consistency you prefer, place into sterilized canning jars.

*Note- I filled half the jars with the cooked apples for a natural flavor, then the rest of the batch I added Cinnamon, tasty!

Filling the canning jars

Fill your jars leaving a 1/2 inch head space. Run a knife down the sides of the jars to remove any air bubbles. You are now ready to place a lid on the jar and screw on your ring until snug.

The water bath

Place your sealed jars into a hot water bath covering the jars at least 1 inch of water. Boil your jars for 20 minutes. Carefully remove them and place them on a towel or cutting board to cool down.

You will know your applesauce has sealed correctly by the popping sounds the lids make as the jars cool down. If any do not seal down tightly, ( you can tell if you press on the lid with your finger and it moves), either reprocess it again in the water bath, or have it for dinner that night.

Thank you for stopping by to view how to make and preserve chunky applesauce, Enjoy!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

I love this stuff. Good read, very well written. DIY stuff makes me nervous at times, so solid simple instructions are really good. Great photos too. I drooled a little by the 3rd picture, I cannot lie. voted/shared/resteemed for you.

hahahah Barry, you and my husband both! He was asking for a side dish as I was making it. He is a total Applesauceaholic! The only reason I make it every year. I spoil him rotten! ;-)

This recipe is so easy to make you will just love having homemade applesauce all winter long.

Great work @sunscape I am now curious to see more, followed!

Thank you cyntyc, I am sure more will....;-) Thanks for the follow to.

Oh Man Oh Man, I want some of the cinnamon apple sauce!!

The best ever! ;-)

OMG, It looks Yumy!!! ;)))

Thank you Anabell!

Fantastic pics. And, I love apples and apple recipes. Thanks for sharing!! Steem On!

Thank you gringalicious! I can only eat them in applesauce and pie, lol

Looks delicious! I have trouble eating raw apples, though I do love apple sauce.

Hi jonjon1, Thank you, I can't eat a raw apple either. I don't like their texture but love them cooked. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46