How to grow African Daisies - Osteospermum

in #howto7 years ago


African Daisies

This is a great day to send out some nature vibes your way from my garden. The following photos are taken by me during the summer growing season. I plant these yearly as they are one of the butterflies favorite flowers and my resident wild rabbits do not eat them.

African daisies prefer full sun and really love rich, well-drained soil conditions. Regular watering is essential, as well as a monthly application of fertilizer to keep them blooming abundantly. These beautiful daisies are treated as an annual flower as they are only hardy to zones 10 and 11.

They will slow down their blooming during extreme heat waves, but when the weather cools a bit, a new flush of blossoms will emerge. They average a height of 15-24 inches tall, this makes them perfect for container gardening. Pinching out the spent flowers will help them to continue flushing new blossoms. However, do not pinch off the blossoms at night thinking they are dead, as they close up their petals in the evenings. ;-)






Thank you for stopping by my post, I hope you enjoyed the different colored African daisies.
Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soaps & Soaks
My Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Beautiful. Thanks for the pics.

You are very welcome, I am glad you enjoyed them.

Hi @sunscape,

Nice post, thanks!

This one's for you:

2014-02-10-PHOTO-00002185.jpg

[from my garden]

She is a beauty, I love the violet shade of that one. Thanks for sharing it with me. Have a great weekend

Thanks, you too!

completamente bellas

Thank you very much, have a great day@carwilva

thank you for share this beautiful pics @sunscape

nice, beautiful shots!

Beautiful flowers, Beautiful bee too ^^

Thank you, I really love the bees in the garden

Thanks for the tutorial! It's such a lovely flower.

Thank you very much, it is one of my favorites for the butterflies

wow! great post, nice pics, thanks for sharing! keep on steeming! upvote!!

Thanks @runicar for the nice compliment, I am faithful to post daily my many passions. ;-)

Beautiful flowers and a very detailed explanation. I really like this post :-)

Thank you very much, I appreciate your compliment. Have a great weekend.

You are welcome :-)

I love these little fellas - great for filling space in the borders, pots and baskets... here in the UK they can be a bit susceptible to our wet winters too - but occasionally (and without much rhyme or reason) will overwinter... when they do it's like seeing an old friend return after a long break... bliss. And following @steemee's trend - here's some for you too - English grown (by an Irishman!) x

osteospermum twilight.JPG

Thank you for sharing your beauties with me/us. They are gorgeous. We can not get them to come back as our ground freezes for too long.

Nice ones! 👍🏼

Thank you for my flower today! The picture with the bee in it is super cool!

You are most welcome, I love the bee he was really enjoying the nectar. Have a great weekend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51