Self Care Sunday - Best DIY Blackhead Remover (with pictures)

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1152.gif

I’m guilty of getting caught up in lifes chaos and forgetting to take care of myself. I figured I couldn’t be the only one and got the idea to create a series devoted to self care! I hope these bite sized Sunday posts help the Steemit community prioritize themselves.

I’ve tested more pore unclogging products than I care to admit and nothing comes close to my holy grail DIY recipe! Its cheap, easy and better than anything you’ll find at the grocery store.

IMG_1120 copy.jpg

All you need is unflavored gelatin (Knox brand has never failed me) and milk, you can even use milk alternatives like almond milk.

Before you get started, wash your face. Next, run a washcloth under hot (not scalding) water and hold it anywhere you want to remove blackheads. The warm cloth will help open pores and makes dirt easier to lift.

IMG_1154.gif

Prepare the goo:

Mix 1 tablespoon of gelatin and 1 1/2 tablespoons of milk, microwave for 10 seconds. Your goo should be warm and comfortable on the skin.

IMG_1166.gif

Apply a thick layer anywhere you want to remove blackheads. Don’t be shy! Let the goo sit until its completely dry, this could take a few minutes depending on the applications thickness. It shouldn't be gummy.

IMG_1168.gif

When the mask feels dry, peel from the bottom up and bask in the glory of your gross pore strip!.. We all do it, no shame. I enlisted my husband for this part...

IMG_3727.gif

IMG_3363.JPG

Now that your pores are squeaky clean, splash your face with cold water to close the pores and prevent more gunk from getting in.

Note: Avoid hair! Unless you’re going for a waxing effect.. which will work on fine hair. If you accidentally cover hair, simply avoid the area when removing the goo and run warm water over the area to dissolve the gelatin.

Pro tip: For optimal results wash your face then combine your mixture. Have your heated goo on standby when steaming your face, you’ll need to work quickly so the pores don’t close!

If you try this DIY, I would love to hear about it in the comments below. As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow.

Did you miss my last post? Catch up here https://steemit.com/@shoogie and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89