How to Quickly Pants an Internet Troll

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

Screen-Shot-2014-07-17-at-10.31.19-AM.png

Take Matters Into Your Own Hands When Necessary

Because reporting harassment to a social network is nearly useless.

Being relentlessly harassed online can make you feel helpless and powerless to do anything about the anonymous, dedicated hater posting your private information or threatening you.

So, I'm gonna share a trick to put the power back in YOUR hands. I've tested this myself and it worked like a charm.

Usage

  • I only recommend using this when you are being HARASSED, threatened, or anything along those lines. This includes threats of rape, doxxing, blackmail, and other threats.
  • This is NOT for if someone is calling you a fag or saying your teeth are crooked.
  • This is to get the upper hand on someone who thinks they have one on you and are terrorizing you.

The plan

  • What you're gonna do is use an IP logging service that gives you a link that you then give to the troll.
  • The link can redirect to any legit webpage you want.
  • As soon as they click the link, their IP is logged for you to see (you'll be given a tracking URL to see results).

Instructions

gbdfyt.PNG
Goto http://grabify.link and follow the instructions:

  • Enter any URL that you want the IP logging link to redirect to. This is the webpage the troll will see when they click the link. It can be anything.
  • Click Create URL
    gfhfghft.PNG
  • On the following page you're given the sneaky link and it includes the goo.gl shortened URL, which is best to use.
    wefwqer.PNG
  • On that same page is a tracking URL (access link), simply go to it to see the IP... it'll be there after they click it.

Getting them to click

  • You have to give the link to the troll privately. If you post it in a public forum or somewhere where anyone else might click it, your results will be useless because you won't know which IP is the troll's.
  • The way I got the troll to click the link was something simple like "Pretty sure they're talking about YOU, you see this yet? (link)" any damn thing really, I'm sure they'll click it...

Tips

The link can redirect to any URL you want so I had it redirect to a Google search that said something like "HAHAHA YOU STUPID FUCKER NOW I HAVE YOUR IP ADDRESS!!!!!". The troll then proceeded to click the link from about 40 different VPNs in a panic trying to obscure the results. But it was the first IP that was logged, and I knew exactly who it was, and it was who I suspected.

I chose to redirect to a google search, but you can pick any URL to redirect to and they'd be none the wiser that you had their IP. This is good if you want to report them to police. But to get them off your back, typically just them knowing you have the IP makes them shit their pants.

Note: Less effective if they're using a VPN, but still worth logging and giving to police if that's the route you're going because an ISP might be able to back track it to the original IP anyway.

Thanks for reading!!

The end ^-^

Adapted and greatly expanded upon from my own comment on a reddit post a few hours ago. - Sheila of Aliens
Sort:  

To clarify: I knew who my troll was because the person I suspected was behind the trolling lived in CO and I did a reverse IP search and it gave me the state they were in, which was Colorado. It doesn't give you their name (I dont think anyway?) but can give you their ISP and city or town. Which is useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52