Getting Started Tips for Writing Poetry - A Tutorial

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

writer-1421099_1920.jpg

I have had a few people ask me for tips on writing poetry since I published my book last year. I've always thought that was a great compliment because I consider myself a decent writer but nothing more. I thought I would write a post to give what advice that I can. It all may seem self-evident, but hopefully, it will provide an "a-ha" moment for someone. This goes for any kind of writing even though this post is focused on poetry.

Think, REALLY Think About What You Want to Say

We are always told to think before we speak, and the same should hold true for what we write. If something makes you angry, or sad, or happy, and you want to write about it, then do it. However, every piece you write, you should think about what you want to convey to your reader, not to mention to yourself!

Every piece that you write is a story and has a message. You don't want to write something and re-read it and discover that it doesn't at all say what you wanted it to say. If you see a particularly beautiful sunset and you want to write about it, think about how you want to paint the picture with words so that your readers feel that they can practically see the sunset for themselves.

pen-631321_1920.jpg

Avoid Cliches EVERY. SINGLE. TIME.

I see many people posting poetry snippets on Instagram and poems on Facebook, Steemit etc, and the one thing that infuriates me is the use of cliches. It reeks of lack of imagination and lack of effort. Especially on Instagram where people that post that tripe have tens of thousands of followers. An example of what I mean might be:

"He broke my fragile heart and set my soul aflame with a single goodbye" - Ugh...please.

Think of a different way to say it. You're trying to capture people's imaginations and pull them in with your words. You can convey emotions such as sadness without using words like "pain", "heart", and "lonely". Be creative and come up with a different way to get your message across.

Write Honestly

Remember tip #1? This goes hand-in-hand with it. The essence of a good poem is honesty. Without honesty then you are nowhere. Let's say for example that your relationship just ended and you want to write your feelings about it. That's great, but DO NOT lie to yourself when you are writing about it. Think long and hard about what you want to say, and why you are in the spot that you are in.

A relationship ending is usually not just the fault of one person. It can be, but not usually. If you had a hand in whatever is making you sad, angry, or hopeless...SAY IT. Write it honestly and bleed on the page. If you can't be honest with yourself then you won't be honest with the people that are reading your work and vice versa.

I have been told by people that have read my book that it is brave of me to spill out everything for people to read. I don't consider it brave. I just consider it finally being honest with myself by putting it out there for everyone to see first-hand. If I had released a book with half-truths and lies I couldn't live with it. Let the honesty flow out of you and onto the page.

drink-2014106_1280.jpg

Don't be Afraid to Use the Tools Available to You

Use an online dictionary or thesaurus. Need a word that rhymes with freight? Go to Google and type in "Rhymes with freight". You might come across a word you didn't think of. I use tools like this all the time if I can't think of the right word or I know there's a better one out there.

I have a pretty good vocabulary, but I sometimes get stuck or I don't like the way something sounds so I go to these online tools and try to find something better. Changing a few words here and there can make your piece so much better than it was originally. Don't be afraid to make use of what you have.

Don't Worry About Sucking

Your first bunch of poems might be trash. I know some of my stuff was awful. Some still IS awful. I read stuff that I have written in the past and I can't believe how bad it was. I can see the progress that I have made in my writing and you will too. The only way you'll get better is to actually write.

If you write consistently and honestly your work will get better. One day you'll write something that makes you say...holy shit, I wrote that!?! It happens to me from time to time and it feels incredibly satisfying. That will only happen if you write, and write honestly.

So get out there and write something. My tips won't make you a great writer, but they helped me progress from bad to decent. I'm still aiming for good to great and I hope you will too!


Images courtesy of Pixabay

My name is Scott. I write poetry and other stuff. I'd love it if you followed me.

Sort:  

YES!!!! Definitely have to keep it honest and from the heart no matter what you do for sure!!

It's worthless if it isn't honest.

yes and now that couldn't be a more honest statement! I have noticed on steemit the more genuine the post the more money you make, its all a win win! And in our lives the more genuine we are with the people surrounding us the more the reward later! Anyway thank you for the tips I definitely needed to see them, as my writing is not so great, but a work in progress for sure.

We are all a work in progress. Mine isn't great either but it's better than it used to be! There are too many posts on Steemit that are clearly just for the money and it drives me crazy. Have something to say or don't say anything! Keep up the writing. I'm looking forward to reading your stuff!

yes, we are! I was told by my friend, if I am just here to make money I'm probably not going to make much. I came here to get away from all the posts that are regurgitated daily on other platforms! Hopefully more and more people come here not only to make money but to make friends, they never would have thought they'd make in their 3d world! I, too, look forward to reading yours as well. Enjoy the day!

You too! I have followed you to keep track of what you write. Nice to meet you here. :)

It’s nice to have a plan or direction for a poem; however, once you begin writing and the poem begins to flesh itself out you sometimes have to release the reins, let’s the poem have its voice. Some of my best poems ended up teaching me things I never realized, made me wonder, where did that come from.

Agreed, and I have done the same, but I think you have to start out knowing what you want to say, and if it takes you in a different direction then at least your initial thought process led you to start something.

This vote is on behalf of @echowhale services

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48