How To Mute And Unmute On Steemit

in #howto7 years ago

http://static.tumblr.com/fdc62b160d03e9b5ce765ae72135b3d9/xzxkysa/sKmoavrwi/tumblr_static_d5hu8cwlztc88kkcc4okg08g4.jpg

Our values and ideas don't always mesh. Steemit is a reflection of this. We exist in a big global community. My preferences might be all the things you hate - you dont need to say it out loud - just mute it (to steal a slogan from Nike).

Due to advances in technology - you can now quiet the things you dont want to hear (or see).

While I advise people to read a wide range of content - this doesnt always happen. Luckily muting other accounts gives you the ability to see Steemit the way you want.

Step 1

If you see a post in the trending section or ANYWHERE on the site that you don't like - step one is identifying the post.

Step 2

Locate the authors username as seen below and click on it.

Step 3

You will be brought to the users profile page. In the top right hand corner click on the MUTE button.

Step 4

You will now see that you have an option to UNMUTE. This is proof you have muted the user - you should now be able to go to the trending section (or any section) and no longer see that authors posts. If you are just testing - you can now click UNMUTE and you will be able to see the authors posts again.

Step 5 (optional)

You can also mute someone directly in the commentes section. If you look in the below image - its a screenshot of the comments section. To mute someone click on their name (as the red line shows) - then simply click on the mute button.

Conclusion

Muting is a neccesary part of Steemit. Many of us have seem some of the out of control behavaiour some users have. Muting also serves the purpose of controntolling the the types of content your DONT want to see. You aren't hurting anybodys feelings - you are simply customizing your Steemit experience. I am sure as Steemit grows this functionality will increase - and we may see white and blacklists - or content filters.

For now the Mute button is more advisable than arguing senselessly!

Thanks to everyone I used in my screenshots - please follow @mrosenquist and @serejandmyself


*Posted by ladder.net

Sort:  

Great post

This comment has received a 3.13 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @xerox-bru.

I wonder if I lead Steemit in the most muted category. I'm sure I'm winning something here... I can't suck at everything!

Those bastards! They win every time! (I'm joking)

Muting hopefully avoids flagging or other such behaviors.. of course you may miss something good..

Excellent Advice.
In my not so humble opinion muteing needs to be suppliments by a mute control system of some sort..perhaps color codes the names of those one has muted (also bots).
I'd also like to see tag filters. I'd like to be able to NOT see any posted that's tagged in any category that I don't want to see.
Some people say things that are aggravating enough to be muted, but oddly enough they also say things I want to hear, consequently we need to be able to individually (our own choice) be able to mute content...in addition to people.

Agreed. I want more customization options in what we see in the feed, too.

Is it too late to appreciate this post?
Sadly had to mute someone
Shame! Shame! SHAME!!!

So we can mute individual comments.. can we UNmute those individual comments too?

How do you unmute? Facebook has a block list. How can I find a list of people I mute?

If I mute somebody, will they be able to see my Steemit blog?

I would like to stop someone from commenting on my wall. This person takes my ideas shares them and upvotes and resteems only his friends.

If someone comments on your post and you mute them, will their comment still be visible to other steemians? ._.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01