Tooth Powder RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #howto7 years ago

We have not used store bought toothpaste in many years. Not only have we saved a lot of money making our own, we have avoided all the nasty junk put in the store bought brands. To buy "natural" toothpastes is very costly and much of the time, they still have the fluoride added.

In the video above, I go more into depth as to why I recently changed up my recipe to what it is now and why I use certain ingredients, so I recommend you watch (or listen at least) if you are interested.

We keep our tooth powders in our own individual four ounce jars with our names on them. I used to mix each person's up when needed but now I like to make a larger batch and store in a quart size mason jar. This saves me so much time.

DSCN2764.JPG

Though you can make a smaller amount to try it if you choose, I am going to write this up so you end up with about a pint when you are done.

Take a quart sized mason jar and to it add:

  • 1/2 cup of either tapioca starch or arrow root powder
  • 1.5 cups of baking soda
  • 1/4 cup Magnesium citrate
  • 1/4 cup Calcium citrate
  • essential oils of your choice and amount depending on how hot they are and what you like, I make ours very strong so to this amount, I add as much as four capfuls of the Now Foods peppermint oil to a pint sized batch.

Other oil options: clove, lime, wintergreen, lemon, myrrh, spearmint, or even a blend like orange-clove.

One can also add a bit of cayenne pepper, I have done this before and loved it!

My brand of choice for the citrates are Now Foods and they can be found in a health food store or on Amazon.
Here are the links:
Magnesium Citrate: http://amzn.to/2rI9bby
Calcium Citrate: http://amzn.to/2rKvPis

DSCN2765.JPG

Once you have all your ingredients in the jar, just shake until well blended. This takes only a few seconds or so and is so much easier and faster than mixing with a fork or whisk.

You can then fill your smaller containers from this.

I also keep a separate jar of a coconut oil blend I use for both brushing and oil pulling. I usually brush a bit with it first, then just do the swishing with it for another 15-30 minutes. If you do this, make sure you do not spit it down your sink! I always just spit it outside.

maxresdefault.jpg

Hope you were able to glean something good from my post and I truly hope you all have a wonderful and blessed day! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I find all your videos of great interest. Would you consider making a post about what motivates you?

That is a great idea! I will try to get to that in the near future :D

Looking forward to it. I bet it mean you do have worthwhile and interesting motivations.

LOVE LOVE This, I just use Baking soda, but hey I might just give this a try. Thanks UPVOTED and Resteemed. Once again a great post @raincountry

Thank you so much!

Thanks for the instruction......does this whiten teeth?

Yes, it does quite well for that, baking soda on its own is good for "bleaching".

I love the sharing of recipes toward a healthier way of life! Resteemit!

Never thought of making your own tooth powder. Will give it a go. Thank you.

Very interesting! I have tried numerous homemade toothpaste recipes so keen to give this one a try!

Cool thanks sis. I am going to try it.. Upvotes!!

Pretty interesting! Lately, I've been using one with coconut oil, baking soda, benzonite clay, Concentrace minerals, and essential oils (spearmint and clove). Yours is very similar to mine, except you mix yours on the fly.

Lately it's been really cold here in WI, and everything coconut oil-based is rock-hard. Any solutions besides nuking the jar?

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $31.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I wonder if i could get my young-ins to try it. We call it paste but whatever works! 😁 also, Im noticing a lack of harmful chemicals. Big bro cant be happy with this! Thanks will keep this in mind. GB

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78