How to Make a Healthy Ranch Dressing and Mayonnaise (in under 5 minutes!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #howto7 years ago

DSCN2832.JPG

Like pretty much every thing else I make, it changes all the time and I rarely make it the same way twice, however, I decided to do my best to type up a basic recipe with options to suit your tastes.

First, let's make the mayonnaise. Super easy and quick and also far cheaper and healthier than any store bought brand.

Here is what you will need:

  • 2 farm fresh eggs (store bought is fine, but local farm fresh is best and healthiest)
  • 1 cup healthy oil of your choice. I prefer avocado for this as olive oil has too strong of a flavor for mayo in my humble opinion
  • 1/2 tsp salt (Redmond Real or Himalayan are my choices, best to stay clear of any pure white salt)
  • 1/2 tsp dry mustard

DSCN2843.JPG

Put all ingredients in 2 cup measuring cup or small bowl and mix on high with a stick blender. This is the number one best, quickest, and easiest way to get a good mayonnaise.

DSCN2847.JPG

You will end up with about 1.5 cups of mayonnaise. To make a pint of the dressing, use one cup of this and you can take the rest to use just as mayonnaise for potato salad or add some relish to and make tartar sauce.

To the cup of mayo, you can add either one cup of buttermilk or better yet, do what I do and use one cup of milk kefir. Another option is to make your blend 1 part buttermilk or milk kefir, 1 part mayonnaise, and 1 part sour cream or yogurt. Today, I am just using the one to one ratio of mayo and kefir.

DSCN2851.JPG

To this blend add 1 Tabelspoon (give or take depending on taste) of each:

  • granulated onion
  • granulated garlic
  • dill weed (I typically add much more as this is what I believe truly makes it a good ranch)
  • parsley (dried or fresh)
  • chopped chives or green onion (dried or fresh)
  • Apple cider vinegar or lemon juice. I used my own homemade vinegar (pineapple this time) as this is what I always have on hand
  • Black pepper

Another favorite of mine to add is at least a Tablespoon of red pepper flakes but I am leaving it out this time since I am taking it to a BBQ and some people there do not like things quite as spicy as I do.

DSCN2853.JPG

Mix well and there you go!

DSCN2854.JPG

Enjoy!

DSCN2833.JPG

Hope you found this post helpful and you learned something new! Blessings to you all ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

We never have mayo or ranch dressing, but this is a recipe I would try! Great share! Steem on ;)

I try to avoid Mayo because its so fat lol prefer italian but this sounds very yummy- thanks for the inspiration Heidi

Thank you for sharing how this is made! Love seeing from scratch recipes! Resteemit!

thanks for posting recipe...

whats milk kefir?

I believe it is buttermilk.

Beautiful post Heidi! Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us! Hugs!

Very yummy! I also use a lot of dill in mine too! Milk Kefir gives just the right twang I think! Resteemed and upvoted!

Thanks for sharing. gonna try this for the 4th.

Thanks for the recipe. I'm really enjoying your posts. Also, that is a beautiful bowl of edible flowers. Did you grow them all yourself?

Thank you Heidi! Love and prayers❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70