How To Properly Use An Earthen Oven and The Consciousness of Fire Starting!

in #howto8 years ago

Greetings Steemians!

Fire is still one of the most used and powerful technologies we have, and though the basic use of fire has become quite rare in modern civilizations, it is still a part of our every day life. In truth, cars are running on combustion, and a large amount of power from the grid is also created with the use of fire. My point is that fire is part of our every day life, but modern humans have become quite disconnected with its essence. I am amazed by how many people I meet do not know how to start a fire, let alone properly make and tend one for cooking!

I have found being experienced and knowledgable with fire to be very useful and still one of the most important skills, especially if there were to be some kind of major disaster. I use it on a daily basis, as all of our food @gardenofeden is cooked on open flames, plus we use it to make hot water and heat living spaces  in the winter. 

Here, I am starting our earthen oven which I made by hand out of 100% sustainable resources and have been using on a daily basis for many years now!

"Primitive" technology can still be a valid solution even in today's modern age!

I am committed to sharing valuable content here on Steemit to contribute to the economy. If you feel my content is valuable, please UPvote, share, and follow!


                                            ∞§∞Blessings∞§∞


Sort:  

Most people will struggle to make a basic cooking fire in good conditions. Our ancestors knew that fire meant life.

It's interesting to ruminate on our ancestors, and what their life was like. I liked how you explained about the Importance of LAYERS - using paper, then bare sticks, & finally sticks with leaves on them.

Anyone who has worked with a woodstove or kiln would have more awareness about fire and VENTILATION (or a person who has done camping outdoors) - but as u say, most people would not .

Well done video.

Such a great training video, thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the comment and support!

I appreciate your knowledge and your desire for sharing!

Thank you for your support and grateful I can share life improving value!

I'm glad I know this basic life skill--thanks for teaching me! Using fire is primal and exciting, and I don't cook with anything else!

So thankful for ALL of your valuable knowledge and the fire mastery you display is regularly appreciated by many!

Grateful to share knowledge and example of life changing value!

Oh Baby!
Love watching you make that fire!

Great video, it would be really intresting to see you make a fire with no lighter!

Yea a good idea. Will do a video of it one day for sure!

Thanks for sharing. I learnt to cook on the camp fire when we traveled around Australia. Sometimes food was burnt, but mostly it was tasty, but maybe because we were so hungry from our travels! I enjoy your posts, thank you.

hahaha yes when your really hungry pretty much any food taste good!
I have spent many months traveling in Australia and love it. Great country for camping!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89