[How-To Series # 14] 3 Ways To Easily Fall Asleep!

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

Insomnia is becoming very common among people day by day and a lot of people are searching for ways to fight Insomnia. If you don't know what is Insomnia, it is a sleep disorder by which millions of people are affected.

Though I am not suffering from Insomnia (thanks to God!) but I had a few problems with the Sleep disorder in the last few days. It was easy to sleep for around 3 hours but then when I woke up to pray and tried to sleep again after a few minutes, I just couldn't fall asleep for some reasons. I kept checking the clock and tried so hard to sleep well but no luck. I had to stay awake for around 1 hour and 20 minutes and only after that, I was able to sleep.

Insomnia
Image Source: Amqueretaro

It doesn't happen often with me, just an occasional thing when I wake up before the dawn time. But still, I wanted to fight with this problem and research on the ways. I've learned a lot from my research and the results were impressive too. So, I thought that I'll help other Steemians if they are also suffering from sleep problems.

In this post, we will discuss those 3 ways through which you could easily fall asleep within 5-10 minutes. Though it depends on the seriousness of your problem. I am not personally suffering from Insomnia and the problem of sleep rarely occurs with me, so I can't guarantee the results in your case as it may be completely different than mine. But all I can recommend is to try these ways.

# 1 - Stop watching the clock:

The first principle to easily fall asleep is to become careless about the clock and timing because the more you'll look at the clock, the higher level of worry it will create which will surely result in sleep disorder. As I mentioned above, I used to do the exact same thing, watch the clock after every few minutes to count how many sleep hours are left in which I could relax. That resulted in the worry which caused more sleep disorder.

Either hide your clock somewhere (if you have a table clock) or just don't look at it. My target is to take the minimum of 7 hours of sleep in a day (which is getting hard day by day to achieve) and the max target is 8 hours of sleep. I try to sleep more on the weekend because of less burden of work but 8 hours of sleep is rare nowadays for me. Even if I could complete 7 hours, it would be a lot but sadly this is getting really difficult to achieve.

Just yesterday, I repeated the mistake again and calculated the remaining hours left for sleep and as always, it resulted in anxiety. The emotions "oh, only 2 hours are left now" started to come which destroyed the least chance of sleep for around 30 minutes. So, the lesson is to never look at the clock except when necessary.

# 2 - Forget that you need sleep!

Yes, the reverse psychology effect works really well. When you try too hard to sleep, then you can bet that 99% of times, you won't be able to sleep. Just like I used to try so hard, put my hands on the eyes and constantly turning around but no results. All I got was the higher level of frustration.

Yes, when you try too hard, it leads to frustration and all of us knows that you can't sleep when you are frustrated. It just leads to more destructive results. The best thing is to forget completely that you want to sleep. Just start thinking positively about some things like think positive about your friends and happy moments. That way, your mind will forget that you actually came to sleep and it will give you an indication that you are now tired and should take some rest. This technique worked really well for me!

# 3 - Do the most boring thing!

You might be thinking that why the most boring thing should be picked and how not the most favorite thing? Well, ask yourself, were you coming to sleep? or you were going to enjoy the time? In case if you want to enjoy your leisure time, then sure! pick your most favorite task/thing to do. But in case if you want to sleep, then the point is to make yourself feeling bored.

I've tested it myself. When you feel bored, your mind actually gives you the signal that you are now tired and can't continue doing the same thing again. You should engage yourself in the boring activity for like 5-10 minutes (except when you quickly start sleepy). This technique works and it works really well.

These all methods are tested personally by me with great success. But as a human, when I cheat on myself and forget these rules, I regret later. The best thing is to keep these methods in your mind and use when you are having sleep disorder problem. Also, try to take at least 6 hours of sleep. If you can, 8 hours would be best (though it varies case to case). A person whose work is related to the computer will need more sleep hours and the one whose work is easy will need fewer sleep hours to have the feeling of freshness.

Anyways, If you've liked the post, then don't forget to leave your comment and try these methods out. Also, make sure to follow me at @princewahaj for more updates. FYI, I'm also running two other series: SEO Tutorial Series and The Weird Series. I'm sure that you'll love those series as well. Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks for this post and your tips, I know insomnia very well and sleeping pills should always be an exception for emergencies!

i hold my breath for seven seconds, and exhale through mouth for eight seconds this helps e to fall asleep

Patient of insomnia should to meditate daily ,it is my personal advice as a doctor . For the proper sleep , brain have to calm down

I think crypto might to be to blame for this rise. As crypto goes up sleep goes down

I have suffered from sleep problems for years, trouble going to sleep and sleeping all through the night. For the past several months I have been taking a couple of tryptophan capsules (which I ordered through Amazon) about an hour before bedtime and this has helped me. Unless my brain is overly active, the tryptophan helps me go to sleep and I haven't been waking up as much during the night. I also read after I go to bed and this helps me go to sleep also.

Very good post, thanks.
@racoo

i ll try to follow your step, i kinda hard to fall asleep. nice article.

c'est bon appredre meme la menthe aide adormir

One of the best things would be to write down a learned event or a positive experience of the day in the evening and look forward to something nice the next morning.

If I cant sleep. The best thing that I will do is to count from 1-100. Believe me it works most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94