Sort:  

No pressure!!! I will....eventually. But for this week......Hmmmmmm

Soap!

No, cheese!

Anything! Hahaha

Coming right up!

When I was a kid, a regular staple was sun dried tomatoes and goat cheese. I remember it as the best thing I've ever eaten, but I don't know where to get goat milk. Sounds like it's time to find and befriend a farmer.

Or get a couple goats. I think that sun dried tomato and goat cheese is a favourite Italian snack

I want goats. I think they'd eat my everything though. I doubt a pair would have a very enjoyable life in my quarter acre back yard.

While I am definitely biased towards goats. They don't eat everything. Certainly not tins. But they do like eating what they aren't allowed to. Such as veggie gardens. We lost half of the trees we planted. Despite building fences. Most of them grew to about 2m and a couple years old but the persistent goats finally broke through, ate all the leaves then stripped off the bark. Dead tree. They're fantastic for keeping the place clean. And you share kitchen peelings between chickens and goats. If you are prepared for goats they should live quite peaceably (almost) on your homestead.

Is a herd of two large enough to satiate their social needs? You've got me thinking super hard about getting a couple goats. Again lol

https://www.hobbyfarms.com/4-things-you-didnt-know-about-keeping-goats-in-the-city/

Looking into "urban goat raising" to get an idea what I'm getting into.

We're headed to the local farmers market on Saturday to get goat milk soap! Super excited :D

Two is the perfect number! For a small family. For basic homestead needs. As well as the happiness of the goats. You must get tame goats though or you will regret it and have endless trouble with skittish creatures. Try and find a reputable goat dairy or owner who will sell two girls to bottle raise. Twin girls or a mother and daughter is also ideal.

So a mama and a baby is enough? I was figuring on two adults and a baby when I looked to see if we have space, but if one mama and one baby is plenty, then we should have no problem finding space for them.

I was kinda thinking about two girls that would alternate breeding seasons, but that's coming from someone that's never had a goat lol

What I'm seeing is that they need about 200 square feet of outdoor space and 10 square feet of indoor space each for dwarf breeds. Which is another question. What breed do I want? I heard someone mention breeds that are specifically hardy and parasite resistant, which sounds ideal.

We've got a lot to learn before we bite the bullet, but from a space standpoint, goats are feasible.

As for skittish animals running around, we have plenty of those with our first three chickens. So it'll probably be best to start with little goats like you said so that they can get used to us being around them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39