You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Howto: Install Arch Linux the Easy Way

in #howto7 years ago

I'm a big fan of Arch Linux @l0k1 - Working with Arch Linux reminded me a lot of working with my first Linux distribution, Pygmy Linux, back in the 1990s. Pygmy Linux was a trimmed down spin of Slackware which provided users with a simple command line interface only, by default. There was no compiler, no package manager, no desktop environment. Everything was done manually or with hand-written scripts. Pygmy presented a steep learning curve when I was first introduced to Linux and Unix, and it was what I needed to become familiar with the technology and pass my course in operating systems at University.

Running Arch is something I think will appeal to people who like to build their operating systems rather than simply run them.

Sort:  

yup. My first christmas present at the age of 4 was several little Lego sets. I have long dreamed of a software system that plugs together like Lego.

Once I saw my first Sinclair ZX81 the road to Steemit was paved! Those memory fragments dear @l0k1 ... memories that live forever! Lego on old friend! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56