Sauron Illustration and Process Video

in #howto8 years ago

More with the Lord of the Rings stuff. A personal interpretation of Sauron. I tried to not be too influenced by the films. Not anything against the films, I just wanted to do my own thing. Here is a process video:


Support my work on Patreon and get more indepth tutorials for each illustration. https://www.patreon.com/jontorresart

Sort:  

Great to watch your piece come alive, upvoted and followed. Hope to see more of your stuff soon.

Thank you! Yes I plan to make many more timelapse videos of my work. Maybe even my traditional paintings too.

i love the art

Awesome work man, Im going to check out Patreon and show you some support as well. Do you have any software recommendations for beginners?

Thanks man that means so much to me. As for good beginner software, i think photoshop should be learned as soon as possible. Its the industry standard for 2d concept art these days. Obviously its expensive so gimp is a decent substitute.

Also, just working traditionally in pencils, acrylics and oils is immensely crucial. I didnt spend as much time in traditional media like i should have. Ive been revisiting traditional media lately.

As a concept artist myself, I have to say: This was boss!
Good use of angles too!
The low lighting gave me a feel and understanding of the world around him. Very dynamic. ;)

Thanks a ton. A little secret is that after the thumbnails i made, Probably restarted this painting like 4 times before I got it the way I wanted in the process on video there.

How about Sauron looking like the one as really described by Tolkien or illustrated in old books?

Like i said. I did my own thing.

I kind of wanted to make it my own. But prehaps eventually ill do one closer to the books. I actually restarted this painting a few times before i was at the point in the video there. It was kind of frustrating haha. But i learned so perhaps round two could be something closer to tolkiens description.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49