HOW TO HAVE EXTRA FUN WITH YOUR CHICKENS

in #howto7 years ago

We are not sure how bored chickens get, but we wanted to make it more fun for them anyway.


Our chickens give us a lot of eggs, and for that we are very grateful. However, their lives can seem sort of mundane some days. They peck some plants, eat some chicken feed, drink some water, and walk around.

Of course, we have never seen one frown about any of it, but we thought that we would help them to have some fun anyways.

Often we will share some food with them, since many of the foods that we enjoy can also be pecked on by chickens.


Pinkie-Pepper and Red-Pepper thought that it would fun to tie up some sweet corn cobs and hang them for the chickens.

By having the cobs hanging, they will swing back and forth as the chickens peck them, kind of like a pendulum. It takes the chickens a little longer to eat them this way, but it looks like they get to have some fun too.

By just holding on to the string, you can have some more personal fun with the chickens! The @little-peppers love this!


Have any of you ever tried this? This is our first time, but we might share some Cucumbers and other foods with them once the garden gets growing. Steem on!


UPVOTE-FOLLOW-RESTEEM

This amazing @little-peppers logo was generously provided by @rigaronib.

Sort:  

I can remember having fun with chipmunks. Tying peanuts in the shell with dental floss and hanging then between two trees about a foot off the ground. Seeing a chipmunk swinging off the ground while trying to free that peanut is lots of fun, at least it was for me.

Now THAT would make a great post!

Very interesting!! Looks fun!

It was fun for the chickens, and the @little-peppers!

Looks like more fun than string and a kitten!

That it does! Thanks @jacobtothe!

Chickens are cool as long as they aren't picking your arm when you try to get the eggs out from under them. When I was a kid I got tore up by a rooster one day. That was the last time I saw that rooster come to think of it. :)

Sometimes that is when they outgrow that particular use...

We had a roo that did that to our son who was about 2 maybe 2 and a half. As soon as my wife snatched up my son off the grand the roo was no longer a guardian of the flock, but a part of that nights stock (well maybe it wasnt that nights stock but it was shortly there after :)

For many animals (and possibly birds) playing is really important.
It would be interesting to monitor their laying patterns when you are playing with them to see if there are any changes.

And maybe see if you can compare what the eggs taste like.
Happy chickens = nicer eggs = happy @little-peppers ;-)

That's right! Laying and playing trends! Cool idea!

In attempting to protect the newly sprouted cabbages from being scatched up I thought cayenne pepper might act as a dissuasion. I was sprinkling it around the cabbage patch and a big clunk came out and she immediately started pecking at it and ate the whole clump. I did try the next day's egg and tasted no cayenne but she was very unhappy and quiet for the next few days.

Wow!
That's what I'd call a hot chick ;-)

You will have super fit chickens :) looks like a lot of fun :)

These are some pretty special times!

I always liked to put the corn cobs on those hangers on the tree. The squirrels had fun with those. Love the Lil' Peppers!!

Oh yeah, they like that too!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I don't have chickens. I do remember my grandmother raising chickens. The chickens loved following her around. She would turn over different boards on the ground that she would use as stepping stones and there would always be little creatures that the chickens would rush to peck at. I guess if I had chickens I would have a lot of random boards that I would wet every now and then with the old chicken water. An uncle told me to always change the chicken water as on a hot day they will wait for the cool water. So chickens would follow my grandmother for the yummy little creatures under the boards and wait for my uncle to put in the new cool water.

What cool memories! Thanks for sharing!

I love this Idea. I raise Rhode Island Red hens and I'm sure they would enjoy this. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00