How to instantly double your reading speed

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

This is a super short post because this hack is so simple. It utilizes some principles of speed reading that I will go into in future posts, but the cool thing about what I’m about to tell you is that you don’t have to know how it works and you don’t need to practice to see instant results.

When we read, one of the limits to our speed of comprehension has to do with the effort and focus needed for our eyes to track the structures of sentences. Our eyes are having to glide along as if tracking a moving target, but the words aren’t moving. Since we are essentially tracking stationary focal points in succession, we are having to train our brain to move our eyes across the screen or page.

This sounds silly, but if we can remove the necessity for our eyes to scan back and forth in linear tracks, we can read much faster with little to no additional effort.

I use two apps to do this, which I will link below.

The spritz technology uses a few other speed reading hacks so it is my preferred tool, but these both feel similar and you’ll be amazed at how fast you’ll be able to consume Steemit posts now!

You can see a demo here:

[youtube

]

Try them out here and let me know what kind of results you get!

http://www.spritzlet.com/

https://accelareader.com/

http://spritzinc.com/get-spritz

Spritzlet doesn’t work well with Steemit, but you can easily select all, copy, and paste Steemit posts into Accelareader. I even use it on my phone browser.

Pro Tips:


1: Before you try it, I would encourage you to do a little test. Find a lengthy article that you would like to read and set a timer. You don’t have to try to read fast, but as fast as is comfortable and you feel you are getting full comprehension.

Then, once again set your timer, use one of the above apps and re-read it- or better yet: get a word count on the page and read half normally, then the other half using the above technique. That way you know you aren’t just remembering things from the first time you read it.

2: Every day or two, try reading at a speed that is outside your comfort zone. Even if you feel you are missing words, that’s ok. Stay focused and get as many words as you can. If you can easily get 400 words per minute (wpm), but 800 feels out of control, practice a few minutes at 800 wpm anyway. Soon you’ll be able to feel as comfortable at 600 wpm as you were at 400 wpm.

I know I told you that you need not practice, and you don’t in order to see results. But if you do practice pushing the boundaries like this, you’ll soon develop a comfortable reading speed that may be 2, 3 or 4 times as fast as your original comfort speed.

I’m eager to hear about your results! Happy reading!

Sort:  

You have shared SUCH GREAT resources, @layl! Thank you, for adding more time to my day... which I will certainly fill with more reading, ha! RESTEEMED.

I bookmarked spritz. THIS IS AMAZING. I CAN READ SO MUCH MORE NOW!!!!

Cool! I'm glad it's useful for you!

Good technology

I read this entire article in less than 30 seconds. Do I win a prize :P Hey check out my bitcoin forecasts here: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@hotsauceislethal/bitcoin-price-forecast-7-20-17

Thank you for sharing such great information.

Up-voted and Followed

That is crazy! I trained my eyes years ago to speed read, but now there's an app for that! HA! Awesome! Thanks LAYL!

This is really useful. I like the idea that we're tapping into our brain to absorb more information at a faster rate.

The interesting thing I found out about this was that as I watched the spritzer example,It help me to read even faster when I went back to Steemit to read an article. My brain was being trained to read faster.

Thank you for sharing this. Imminently useful in reading on Steemit and elsewhere!

So interesting! I will try it out. I tend to skim reading material and I sometimes miss details. Maybe this will help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97