How to make beautiful pictures/graphics for your posts without being a graphic designer.

in #howto7 years ago

Today I am going to share with you the tool that I use to make the graphics of this blog. This tool is www.canva.com. It doesn't require any knowledge of graphical design, it's mostly free and you don't have to put too much effort in order to create something beautiful.

how to.png

First of all, you have to create an account or register with your social media. They also have an awesome blog that deals with graphic design.

1.png

Then you land on the main page. This is where your previous designs are and on the top of the page there are templates of most usual types of designs. If you don't want to use any of them you can create one with custom dimensions.

2.png

For the posts here I use 800*600 pixels, but you can experiment with dimensions of your own.
3.png

Now you can create your picture/graphic. Apart from the basic layout ( empty canvas ) , as you can see there are a lot of pre-made layouts that you can use to create aesthetically pleasing pictures. We will use the empty canvas and create something of our own, using the menu on the far left. I will use as an example pictures that I made for my previous post.
4.png

For starters, you can upload one of your pictures. It a simple drag and drop. If you want to adjust the picture there are various filters that you can play with.
5.png

Drag and drop the picture inside your canvas. Of course, you can change the size and move it around. Now, let's add some text. You click on the text and you find pre-made sets of text you can use and regular blocks of text. Click whatever you see fit.
6.png

You can change the size, the color and the orientation of the text.

7.png

You can change the background of your design with many colors or textures or even photos.

8.png

A very useful feature that you can find on the far right is that you can duplicate or delete a design of yours.

9.png

I'm saving the best for last. Canva.com has a huge library of designs, illustrations and photos. By clicking "Search" and type the keyword that you want, you can find numerous choices. Many of them are free to use, others require $1 USD, while the rest are for premium ( paid ) users. They have to make money someway. :)
You can use paid elements in your graphics, but they will appear watermarked.
10.png

Experiment with keywords and there's no way that you will not find something that you like for your creations.
And once you've finished, you can download it and/or share in your social media.
11.png

That was it. Hope you found it useful. There are at least couple more alternatives, but I use canva.com for many years and you don't change a winning team.

And until we all create beutiful desings
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem

PS: Now, that you’ve reached the end of this presentation of canva.com, I suppose that you know what you could do and that is upvote, resteem and follow, because this way we can create more. Right ?

Sort:  

It is really a great help to newbie like me. In my first days here, it was too difficult to fit, edit and format appropriate photos for my post. Thank you so much for introducing me the canva.com.

Glad you've found it useful.
Thanks for being here. :)

Thanks for sharing with us i just resteemed it ;)

Thanks for sharing it with your audience. Hope people make beautiful stuff . :)

I love canva!! I've been using it for a while, it's easy and quick with plenty of templates!

I love it too. I use it for years and it has many free elements.

This post is upvoted by Polsza for 82 %.
If you want help us growing upvote this comment.
Thanks !

I use canva for my YouTube video thumbnails and its really easy and quick. I recommend it!

Yes, it's a great tool and I wanted to introduce it people that might not know it.

Thanks for dropping by.

Very cool and useful guide. It will come certsinly come handy in the future !

It has a lot of features. I just covered the basics.

Awesome! I like Picmonkey as well.

Yes , Picmonkey is the other alternative that I know.

An important tool! It covers all the needs for a fairly important field! Thanks!

Glad that you liked it. You being artistic can make better use of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53