You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FINALLY, THE HOW-TO VIDEO YOU'VE ALL BEEN WAITING FOR - How To Grab a Snapping Turtle by the Throat

in #howto8 years ago

Great post! You have so many great reptiles down there in Arkansas! I'd like to see that with a big soft-shelled turtle. When I lived in Kansas, I found a big snapping turtle in a fish trap that hadn't been checked for a day. The turtle was all dead limp - it couldn't get back to the surface to breathe like it needs to. So we hauled it into out little boat to clean and eat it. I had my foot on the back of the shell, idly pumping up and down. I ended up performing chest compressions on that turtle and it came back to life -- groggy at first and then a little sassy. I don't know if snappers have nine lives like a cat, but that one had at least two lives. It could still be alive today!

Sort:  

Incredible story! Nice work. I've never tried this method with a softshell, but I will if I get the chance.

I think soft-shelled turtles are crankier than snappers, even, and they have longer necks, too. Here's to turtle power!

They don't have as bad of a reputation... But they can be nasty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45