Wow! Did I Just Find the Perfect Way to Get Countless Upvotes on Steemit?

in #howto7 years ago

Is there actually a formula for gaining upvotes on Steemit? Have I discovered the perfect recipe for success? You tell me!!

The Steemit.png

I just read a great blog by @valorforfreedom entitled, Steem School EP 25 - How to Identify an Upvote-Worthy Post. It is an excellent list of ideas for bloggers looking to attract more readers and upvotes on Steemit. I highly recommend all my followers also follow @valorforfreedom . His Steem School series is very helpful.

In this particular blog he recommends an entertaining title with adjectives that pull the reader in. I tried with this post. I added the adjectives Perfect and Countless to my title and threw in the Wow hoping to pull you in. Did it work?

@valorforfreedom also gives the wise recommendation to bloggers:

"Furthermore, the first readable line on the Steemit feed must pull you in. Do you want to know the answer to the first line that you can see? Is it written correctly?" Steem School Ep 25

So, I tried to write a first line that made people want to click on my post. I wrote:

Is there actually a formula for gaining upvotes on Steemit? Have I discovered the perfect recipe for success?

I figured the idea of a formula for success must be click worthy. I can't be the only one on Steemit looking to increase interaction. Step one is getting a reader to actually show some interest. How did I do?

@valorforfreedom also recommends a good first picture to highlight your blog on the feed. He encourages bloggers to put branding on the thumbnail with clear text. I never thought of how important writing on a thumbnail is but I did scroll down the feed and test his theory, and he is right. I do want to click on blogs with clear thumbnails first. Heck, it was the reason I clicked on his blog! Check out his wonderful branding!

Steem School EP 25   How to Identify an Upvote Worthy Post — Steemit.png
Image Source

Now, that's an eye catching thumbnail for sure!! To try out his idea, I headed to Canva. This website lets you create amazing photo designs for free. They didn't offer a template for Steemit, so I went with the YouTube thumbnail files. I added a picture and some text. I figured the picture of my daughter was pretty eye catching. Did it work?

Finally, @valorforfreedom asks a very important question:

"Does the post provide a lot of value? Is it formatted perfectly and are the tags fitting? Are there a lot of grammatical errors?" Steem School Ep 25

I hope I met the mark there. I am an English teacher, after all. If my grammar is choppy or my content is lacking, please please let me know!

So, how did I do? If you got this far in the reading, I would say it worked!

The proof is in the upvoting though.
You know what to do!

my.png

Sort:  

Sometimes I feel like breaking the "rules." Actually, most times. What works for one doesn't always work for the next, but that advice is a good start.

True. Can art really be ruled by rules, after all? I guess that's what makes your blog so original! I always appreciate your comments and upvotes, but mostly, your refreshing honesty. I am learning plenty about writing for a blog from you and others. Thanks! Blessings.

All one needs is a good solid template, something along the lines of those rules up there, then add you.

Have a nice day!

I don't know if it worked because I already follow you; lol, sorry. It should help making your post more "click baitable" which, hopefully, leads to more views and votes. Though, quality should be the first priority.

I've been given a lot of inside tips on marketing but some of then strike me as being click bait - I've been around here for a while and I agree with @nonameslefttouse - you need to radically be yourself (even splitting an infinitive) because you need to offer what nobody else does. That's my take.

Thanks so much for your advice. It means a lot. I find your posts to be some of the most unique on here. I am hoping to combine some proven techniques with some individuality, if I can. Still trying to find my groove on here. I appreciate your encouragement! Blessings.

Well, it got my vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76