How To: Make A Farmer's Knife part 3

in #howto6 years ago (edited)


On part three of The Farmer's Build I am finishing up the heat treat and checking the edge. I hope you all are enjoying these videos, and I am excited to hopefully see a package opening video from @bowentroyer and @thefarmerswife .....no pressure. 😀

In between videos I hardened the blades. I wasn't in a good position to catch it on film though. So the second part of a heat treat is to temper it. This is the process of softening the hardened cutting edge. It is a little tricky because if it is too hard it could chip and crack, and if it is too soft it will roll the cutting edge.

After I temper them, I check the cutting edge by testing them on wood. It is a pretty hardcore test, and I feel I push my knives a bit. I want to be sure that they are durible for the long haul.

Once they are edge tested it is time to clean them up. I will be going up to a 400 grit belt. This will give it a decent shine and a nice edge.

I hope you are all enjoying these videos and would love to hear from you. Be well.



Don't forget to check out Steemcreators.com and get your tickets to join us in Toronto. Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) and I will both be speaking!


Also, please check out our adventure through life! We have created an account just for what is about to happen....

@crookedroadhome

GHSC Discord


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Those knives are really coming. This is going to be the best gift. Something they can pass down to their sons. Super excited!!!

I really hope so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47