How To: Build A Farmer's Knife part 2

in #howto6 years ago


This is the next step in the Troyer's build. I am having alot of fun with these little guys, and they are coming together well.

@bowentroyer also gave me a piece of walnut that was harvested on their farm, and in this video I also start the process of turning that walnut into knife scales.

Sometimes I start working and forget to film. I also ran into that this time, but there is plenty more to come. I hope you enjoy it!



Don't forget to check out steemcreators.com for details about the Steem Creators Conference. You will find @freedomtowrite and I speaking there September 5, 6 and 7.



Also, check out @ghscollective. The fasted growing online community for self reliance. Homesteading, farming,gardening, sewing, hunting, fishing, cooking etc.

youtube link

Sort:  

They are looking great. I am very excited

I am glad! They are great.

This is so awesome, such a cool process! Interesting that you were using a grinder so much. I would have sworn you were going to use a band saw with a metal band blade to cut out the rough shape. lol shows how much I know about knife making. lol :)

Thank you. I use the tools that I have at hand. It is all about the creating process.

You are very welcome! And that is so cool! :) It really doesn't matter what tools you use, as long as you get your desired result. Keep it up man, I can't wait for part 3! :)

Wanting to make knives one day, to much going on here right now. It is a fun way to relax and have something to use on the farm.

It is definately a good time. I usually listen to books on tape. There are many hours just standing haha.

The whole process is fascinating. From a raw block to something so functional.

Right! Thats why I love it so much. From nothing to something.

Have you ever tried to make a knife from a file?
From what do you prefer to make a knife handle?

I have made sevral from files. The oldee ones are high carbon steel all the way through, so very good. I don't use files too much these days. I prefer wood handles. Really, something custom or repurposed.

How to build a farmer's wife 😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45