You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paper Bag Flooring Tutorial

in #howto7 years ago

Wow, this looks interesting. I wonder how it would hold up to 14 pairs of claws running and walking on it all day? I need something cheap to go in my entire upstairs. I spent almost $5k last year to get a new floor. Most of it was material costs. the guy never finished and what he did was done wrong and ruined all the materials. I currently have a floor so warped you can trip over parts of it.

Sort:  

Wow 14 pairs of claws. So is that 7 animals or 14? I feel like it is pretty durable but I have no idea how it would hold up to a bunch of animals ripping around on it.

it's 7. I have set my foot down and told them NO MORE, lol. But every one of them is a rescue, so I can't be too upset. They would have died if we hadn't taken them in. And I must admit it feels good when you kick back on the couch to watch tv and they sort of fight to see which ones are gonna lay on top of grandma, lol.

I am going to play around with the idea and who knows. I might try it. I have toyed with the idea of using polymer clay to make tile logs (like they make canes of of it), then slicing it a little thicker to make tiles. I could work on 2 ft x 2ft pieces of plywood so it could be done on a desk. Make enough for the room and then put them down a grout between them. If it would hold up, it could be one of the most beautiful floors ever made because there are so many colors to work with and you can make them look anyway you want. I even made faux malachite once and people thought it was real, lol. Thanks for sharing this, you've got my wheels turning again.

That is sweet that you rescued so many animals. That makes me think of my auntie and uncle that have 5 rescued cats, some with disabilities.

That polymer clay sounds really cool and would certainly be more durable then the paper bag flooring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47