DIY Sharpening Jig for Woodturning Tools

in #howto7 years ago

Anyone in woodturning knows, a tool sharpening set up is just as important as the lathe itself. I learned quickly that I can only turn one project before having to sharpen my tools, if not halfway through one project. My mentor showed me the best way to get a precise edge, especially on a bowl gouge with an “irish” grind or “swept back” grind, is to use a sharpening jig. The product all the guys at the turning association told me to get was the Wolverine Sharpening Jig. I hopped on Amazon and to my surprise, this simple jig was over $100! I have already spent a butt load of money acquiring all the needed tools, machines and accessories and was very disappointed when I saw that I’d need to drop another $100 just to have a jig for sharpening. That meant I would have spent more money on my grinder and the sharpening jig than I did on my wood lathe and tools! Stubborn me decided to dig a bit deeper and browsed Pinterest and Google to see if there was another way. I was excited to find a myriad of options for DIY sharpening jigs that did the exact same job as the $100 Wolverine. Some of the aspects to these DIY options were a bit overly engineered in my opinion so I made my DIY plan by picking and choosing designs for certain aspects from a number of DIY options. What I created was rather simple to put together and mostly made from things I already had lying around in the garage. All I purchased were 2 eye bolts; a whopping $1.67 at Home Depot. Now that’s my kind of solution!
I hope my video gives some ideas to someone else that may be in the same predicament I found myself in.
Enjoy, and thanks for checking out my post!

Sending you all my love, peace, and positive vibrations!
Namaste’

Sort:  

Congratulations @epsquared! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Excellent and very informative post EP²
BIG welcome to Steemit - Great to meet you and I am following you now for more great content :D

Upvoted and resteemed!

You are so smart! I would have been scared to cut off the metal piece with all of those sparks! This was really fun to watch and you did a great job explaining your process! Thanks for sharing @epsquared!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18