Space-Saving Techniques for Packing Your Suitcase, Contributed by @sharingeverybite

in #howto6 years ago

pexels-photo-171053.jpeg

Should you roll it or fold it? Bag it or stuff it in all the nooks and crannies? If there’s anything I’ve learned over the years while traveling it’s how to get the most crap into your luggage. Sometimes it’s to avoid extra fees with checked baggage and other times (like in my life right now) it’s to make your day-to-day travel life more organized and breezy.

These are some tips to pack your suitcase to save space, stay organized, and keep your belongings from getting broken.

How To Pack Your Clothes


The best technique I’ve found if you’re really trying to get as much clothing in your bag as possible is to roll it. For instance, with pants you’ll fold them in half; start with the waist end and roll them like a burrito (as tightly as possible) all the way down to the ankles. Try to fold all your clothes just enough so they’re about the same width before you roll them up. Imagine something like this:

pexels-photo-302842.jpeg

It might not seem like this will save much space, but it can cut the bulkiness in half and keeps them less wrinkled, too.

Utilize “Dead” Space


Certain items you might need are bulky but necessary. Shoes, for example, take up a lot of space but you have to have them. Use the area where your feet would go to put socks, accessories, or other small items (bagged if necessary for sanitary reasons).

Bags & Packing Cubes


Not everyone likes them, but I am a huge fan of packing cubes. They keep similar items together which ends up saving lots of time when I’m searching for that one shirt . Also, if I need something at the bottom of my bag, packing cubes prevent the whole thing from getting destroyed in the process.

organized-travel-2849856_1280.jpg

I currently have two large, one medium, and two small cubes and that about covers the majority of my wardrobe—all the clothes I own in the world. For the smaller things like socks, bras, swimsuits, and underwear, I reuse old plastic zipper bags. They’re the kind sheets, pillow cases, or curtains often come in from the store. Ziplock bags would probably also do the trick, but they might not be as durable.


These three tricks helped me fit all my clothes and accessories into one suitcase. I’ve been on @TangerineTravels through Mexico with @shenanigator for almost two months now and everything has continued to remain orderly. Thank goodness! Hope they help you as well. :)

Do you have any tips for keeping your bag organized?

Share in the comments below.

Sort:  

Ya u r right , folding clothes by rolling them up can save space of ur luggage. I always roll my kids' clothes in pair i.e. shirt/blouse with pants. Much easier!

A good way to offload some of the burden while you plan for a journey. Excess luggage happen to spoil the party..and your enjoyment..thanks for sharing

you are great, to set the system in life or in marriage it is very difficult, but you can ... hopefully I also helped!

thank you good information. Nice to meet you @communitycoin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64