How to clear your browser cache from cookies that just won't die (Chrome on mobile)

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

I surf the ol' net a lot on my phone. I use the Chrome Browser on Android. With all the ads and crap running on most sites, I clear my browser cache and cookies multiple times on the daily.

I do this because, frankly, I am paranoid after being around the crpyto space for a bit, and also because it speeds up the browser a bit.

There's an ugly thing I've noticed lately though.

Sites that use Web Workers leave a zombie cookie

In other words, they leave cookies that never go away when I run the usual "Clear browsing data" setting. The cookie just pops right back up:

site-caches.png

In other words, I got frustrated, and when I get frustrated, I will destroy the problem. Here's the solution.

How did that super zombie cookie get in there?

For me, it was when I accidentally clicked the "Allow notifications" popup on ccn.com. This hooks into the new Web Workers API in the browser.

notify-box.png

I don't have a problem with CCN. They did everything by the book. The site asked permission, didn't hide buttons, and didn't auto-trigger events in the background. It's not their fault when they make a clear dialog and I do three things at once with fat fingers. Their UI is great.

Instead, my gripe is that the Chrome browser doesn't make it clear which sites have offline Service Worker data stored on the phone. It buries the hell out of that setting.

How to flush Web Worker data (which will kill the zombie cookie)

Thankfully, the option to flush Web Worker data can be flushed. Once you do this, the corresponding cookie will go away also. Here are the steps:

1. Tap the browser settings icon

settings-btn.png

2. Tap the "Site Settings" tab

site-settings-tab

3. Tap the site in the list

site-option.png

4. Tap the "Clear & Reset" button. You're done.

clear-site-data.png

Nice, you're done! Now don't get me started about the cookies that Google forces you to have......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58