The DCR-250 ---- A affordable macro lens attachment for under $70

in #howto7 years ago

DCR250AZFIX8.jpg

I wanted a cheap way to start playing around with macro photography, so I did a little research and discovered the DCR-250. I saw photos from people using this device and was impressed with the quality and most of all the price. I took the above photo by hand and was impressed with the clarity from a handheld macro shot.
DCR250AZFIX11.jpg

The lens attachment came in a small box

DCR250AZFIX10.jpg

Here it is attached to my Canon T3I with the 18-55 kit lens
DCR250AZFIX1C.jpg

Photo using a tripod

DCR250AZFIX2C.jpg

Another tripod shot

DCR250AZFIX3.jpg

One more

DCR250AZFIX4.jpg

Hand held rock photo

DCR250AZFIX5.jpg

I was impressed with the quality and cost of this device and plan to find some more exciting subjects to photograph in the very near future.

Do you have a favorite lens to use for macro photography? Please feel free to comment and ask questions below.

Sort:  

That is a great lens! Love the colorful flower and the detail. Hope to see more of your work 💕

Glad you like it, I need more practice that is for sure but I plan to post more.

Great pictures, like

Thanks, glad you enjoyed them

Wow great zooms, the lens is amazing(and ofcourse your photography skills) :D will follow for sure !

Its a cheap way to try macro photography, hope to find some better bugs to try it on.

I love the pictures!

I have a photoeditchallenge starting that i think you would enjoy and can win some free SBD

Click Here for the challenge

Glad you enjoy them, that photo challenge looks interesting

Interesting little gadget! The EF 100mm macro lens is about $300 new, so that is much more affordable.. is like to see how it hold up in a comparison.

I own the 100mm non-L version and it's very sharp and fast focusing. Does that macro extender still allow AF and, if so, Is there a limiting of focus points? Does it slow the AF down?

Nice images! Have fun with that thing :)

Auto focus worked well and it was almost as fast as it would be without it. Focus points seemed to be limited to the center.

Great photos! I like them all!

Thanks, macro photos can be quite fun

You're welcome! You're right! And you did excellent works! ;)

you can get some fantastic images with macro lens.. Some nice shots you captured there

Thanks man, just getting the hang of it

Decent results. You'll notice proper macro lenses are much sharper, but they are also quite expensive. If you want to get nice lenses at bargain prices, get really old manual lenses and use them with your DSLR with an adapter. But you have to do away with autofocus which is quite helpful in macro photography.

No doubt this isn't a high end macro lens, but for my purpose of learning its good enough for now. I have been using manual as well as auto but find auto helps with bugs since they move often. Manual is great for subjects that are more cooperative.

Yes, auto makes a lot of sense for bugs and the like as speed is quite crucial. The shots look pretty good, I have friends that do wonders with equipment that is supposed to actually suck, so it's not only about the lenses after all. As long as you get the focusing distance you are after with decent quality, you should be able to start getting some high quality shots. Nice work so far, I'll stay tuned ;)

Thank you, I imagine things will improve as I get some more practice in

That's for sure! :) Practice makes perfect, right!

Great macros and they show us that one does not always need the most expensive gear! Thanks for the hint, have a nice weekend!

Glad you enjoyed it, I think its a very inexpensive way to start having fun with macro photography.

Great, do you have URL where to buy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.84
ETH 2398.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56