Editing photos taken by @betelzeus to see if Gimp can make them pop more

in #howto7 years ago

Bee3editC.jpg

@betelzeus did a post of some to the macro photos he took of a bee and I asked him if I could edit them a little in Gimp to see if I could make them stand out a little more. Above is the edited version of the photo using gimp. I did an Auto white balance and manual adjustment of the contrast and brightness to bring out more detail and brighten up the subject.

Bee3Corig.jpg

This is the original photo from @betelzeus with no edits from me.

Bee1editC.jpg

Edited in the same fashion as the first photo

Bee1Corig.jpg

No edits from me

Bee2editC.jpg

Final edit and probably my favorite one

Bee2Corig.jpg

No edit original photo from @betelzeus

I hope this posts shows how easy it is to make your photos stand out a little more using simple features in gimp. If you have questions or comments please feel free to post below.

Thanks to @betelzeus for letting me experiment using his work.

Here is a link to my tutorial on using white Balance https://steemit.com/howto/@azfix/using-auto-white-balance-and-auto-color-enhance-to-make-your-photos-pop-in-gimp

Sort:  

Whoa! Check that out ... that's awesome and makes a huge difference. Thanks for that :)

Hey and thanks for the link to the tutorial , now I'm all keen to go take more macro shots and try this stuff out in GIMP :)

Just as a side note ... now this is why steemit is such a cool place! People out there like @azfix helping other steemians out and freely giving out info on how to do things better.

Awesome man :)

Glad you like the edits and I am sure you will enjoy Gimp, its a great free alternative to Photoshop and will do most of what you need. I have to use Lightroom for some of my astrophotography edits but Gimp can do just about everything else.

Wow! It's a job well done. Thank you for sharing!

Wow! Nice Post to share! :)
btw I just upvoted your post and also followed u
Can you please follow me back?
please
I post lots of Interesting Things every day...

PS
(ANYONE LOOKING FOR FOLLOWERS PLEASE FOLLOW ME
AND ILL FOLLOW YOU BACK! INSTANT FOLLOW BACK ILL PROMISE!)

Thanks will check out your stuff

is animal it?

Just a Bee

Thanks for sharing the tips!

No problem, thanks for stopping by.

Pretty amazing that Gimp has such strong tools in auto, the photos definitely look better.

Yes its a pretty sweet editing tool, the only manual adjustments I did were brightness and contrast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76