Difference between PNG and SVG File Format!

in #howto6 years ago


In this post, I have the article for you guys in which I will tell you what is the difference between the PNG and SVG file format in adobe illustrator :)

This article is on the request of my students who want to know the difference between the PNG and the SVG file format. Although there are many types of output format that are used in the Graphics Designing. But for today my topic of discussion is PNG and SVG file format that is used in the Adobe Illustrator.

In this tutorial, I have explained the difference between the PNG and SVG file format procedure step by step how you can save the output of your design that you want to save as png file or as SVG file. You can also try it to clear your concept as well.

So the Question is that what is PNG and SVG file format?

PNG stands for (Portable Network Graphics)

It was created as an open format which is used to replace the GIF (Graphical Interchange Format) and is the most widely used for lossless image compression format on the internet. It is also a raster graphics file format that supports file data compression. Png files nearly always use file extension PNG or png and are assigned MIME media type image/png.

SVG stands for (Scalable Vector Graphics)
Scalable Vector Graphics is an XML-based vector image format for two-dimensional graphics with support for interactivity and animation. SVG specification is an open standard developed by the world wide web consortium since 1999. SVG image and their behaviors are defined in XML text file. which means they can be compressed scripted or indexed as well. The SVG image can be created and also provide the facility to edited with any text editor or any other drawing software.

Let me show you the some of them!

PNG file




SVG file




As you can see that there is a big difference between the SVG and PNG file format that we are used in the designing




Main Difference between SVG and PNG file format!

So the main Difference in SVG and PNG file format

  • PNG is an image file| SVG is also image file with edited facility

  • PNG is non-editable | SVG are editable

  • PNG is raster image | SVG is a vector image

  • PNG is made up of a fixed number of pixels | SVG is not made up of a fixed number of pixels
  • PNG distortion will occur while in enlarging or zoom the image | SVG is a vector based and remains clean as it.
  • PNG use the .png file extension | SVG use the .svg file extension.



Have a look at the SVG file!



AS you can clearly see that I have edit the SVG file easy and change its color according to me as I want to be there. So for that purpose sometimes client request you to give me the SVG file format as well because it is editable and can be used for the future as well. But on the other hand PNG file is non-editable it is the final output of the design or anything which is not edited anymore. This is the reason different file formats are used for the designing purpose.



This lecture is delivered on steemit and youtube, you can ask any query or question in the Discord Channel of "Rainbow Warriors"


Here is the link to join this channel for any work or query regards anything that comes to your mind!

https://discord.gg/eYCgx7

Note!

If you want further details about this you are most welcome I will provide you what you are looking for :)

Because I'm here at your services! O:)



Remember!

  • PNG is raster image which is not editable and pixelate.
  • SVG is vector based which editable and remain same it the quality of resolution.


Note please!

Try this that I have tell to you and show me the work that you have done don't shy or feel free and share it with me!




Hope you guys like this initiative of making the Adobe Illustrator tutorials for those who are unable to find jobs and not able to pay a fee or they are looking for some skills to build on for a long term.



Here is the link of my page like please and share it and like it with others

https://www.facebook.com/Graphics-Channel-151412682234319/


Here is the link of my youtube channel "Graphics Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSQy1JJthJG3l0MI6RR4Rew/featured?view_as=subscriber


Please Like it share it and also subscribe it

I'm here to showcase my talent in front of you guys need your huge support and motivation. If you guys keep in touch with me and support my work. I surely gonna rock-on the steemit


Please share your valuable feedback about this post. So in future, I will make better as I can. Thanks for your precious time to reading this post


Regards: Aqib Ashiq
CEO of "Graphics Channel, Rainbow Warriors, Cross Technology"

Fiverr profile

https://www.fiverr.com/aqib_ashiq

Facebook Profile
https://www.facebook.com/aqib.ashiq.31

Upwork Profile
https://www.upwork.com/o/profiles/users/_~0169657518d328561e/

Sort:  

Does SVG format make one's work look like its a cartoon of some sort?

Basically SVG is file format in which we save our output yes you can save anything in SVG or in png file

This design looking nice but very simple design.
Are you Pakistani?

Well its not about the design as I earlier mentioned in the above article I'm just trying to clear your concepts not designing at the moment read once more you got your point!

good article!

Thanks for appreciation

I believe it to be achievable as well. I recently began using SVG files in my work. And I personally discovered https://masterbundles.com/stock-content/vector/ which has a vast collection of files on a variety of topics. I was given the chance to make my creations more vibrant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46