STEEMIT TIPS: Don't talk shit on the Blockchain (foul language warning)

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

Ok, so, this doesn't have a direct story attached to it. It's just good advice. Here's the thing. Did your mom ever tell you something to the effect of "Watch what you say! You can't take words back?" It's an important thought. The next level shit of that is watch what you type because you can't take words back on a highly distributed blockchain and potentially for all time history will record you as a shit talkin' a-hole. My advice... skip the shit talk.

Steemit rewards being a good neighbor

There's this thing called reputation. It's the number next to your name. Mine is 70 (almost 71). It means that I've gotten a lot of post rewards without catching many flags. It means a lot of people have upvoted my stuff, and it's a sign that this community generally doesn't think I'm an asshole. It also means I'm a trusted person on the platform. It also means I have a lot to lose if I behave badly.

The curation curve does some weird things. When you comment you get rewards. If you comment fairly early on a post and others (particularly whales) pile on after you the amount that you earn through curation actually goes up. Whales are less likely to invest their votes into posts on people that have low reputations because they are less likely to see the return on their curation rewards go up. So, without thinking about social consequences or quality of posts or things of that nature whales prefer to upvote high rep accounts. So, if you're looking to grow you want your rep as high as possible.

What ruins a good rep score?

Did you guess it? Shit talking! Ever wonder why Steemit isn't filled with the same kind of racist, ignorant, obnoxious stream of shit that you find on most social media? It's because flagging exists and people can cause you financial damage if you're talking shit about them or acting like a total asshole. So, here's some advice (and this goes for on Discord too because Discord saves your chats forever, though it is easier to erase), don't run around talking shit on the block.

Does that mean I can't say anything negative?

Guys, this is Do no harm, but take no shit land. If someone is acting like an asshole call them out for their behavior but not them as a person. You have every right on this platform to defend yourself not only with words, but down votes too. Here's the thing though. When you're defending you have to be careful not to go on offense.

EX: Someone calls me or MSP a scammer on the block.

First they are already breaking the rule of don't talk shit...

Good response: Hey dude, that's a frustrating position for you to take. The Minnow Support Project is made up of over 600 delegators and run by half a dozen top 30 publicly elected witnesses. We take great care to be transparent in our goals and how this place runs. I think you really ought to double check the information you have because it's completely inaccurate. (it's been a few months thankfully since me or MSP has been called a scam).

Bad response: Look here fucker. You're clearly an ignorant shit. Just look at the fucking block you ass licking moron. Any half brained asshat, even you, can look at the block with publicly available tools and see that roughly 80-90% of the curation goes to 1600 different accounts that manually use the bots (breaking character: 10% stays on minnowsupport because it upvotes it's own posts). So, how bout you go fuck yourself and your mother while you're at it.


Both of those responses get across that me and MSP aren't scams, but the second one is probably gonna catch some flak. One of the most frustrating things I've seen on the platform is that any time I lose my cool and really let an asshole have it others on the block rallly to their defense. It's actually really cool, but at that moments it's infuriating. Anyway, the point here is that if someone is talking shit about you you're free to fire back some responses and share how they are wrong and how you don't consent to what they are saying. If you cross the line and start making personal attacks against them then just get ready for unintended consequences because this platform will strike back.


This post created on mspsteem.com. Its a clone of steemit except run by MSP (thanks @netuoso for hosting it). It also provides back 5% beneficiaries to @minnowsupport. Lastly I personally only really curate off of people that use mspsteem.com and use the tag mspsteem.

Sort:  

Good advice, our fingers should type slower than our thoughts, and read twice before pushing the post button.

It costs nothing to be Polite , cheers

Minnowsupport Project has been helping me and other 5000Steemians from day one
How can that fucker call MSP a Scam?
He is truly am idiot he could have easily seen on the blockchain the truth
Love to MSP and Steemit.com

Words have incredible power.
Water has memory. A human that touches water leaves his own finger print in the water molecules.



http://www.lifebuzz.com/water-theory/

Words have power - merely by their intention - and thus influence their environment positively or negatively. All to do with frequencies. Most amazing stuff.

I upvoted because you are right and this post has words that need to be spoken because there is power in words.

The worst "shit talkers" I have encountered are bots, and they have whale status and go around "talking shit" about humans.
I GET there is "spam" but when I actually go check the "spammer" USUALLY I find some non-English speaking person TRYING to get votes from the English speakers. That is not really "spam" in my opinion, but the bots just trash these people. The bots had their day with me, too. I cried all night over being accused of "tag spam" by a bot. It was a bullshit accusation, it was rude beyond words, and yet that bot will NEVER face any consequences for shitting on humans.
You have a great point, now someone needs to make the bots live by it... except the bots LIVE to talk shit about people.
Kill the bots. It is the only hope.

Good advice @aggroed... I'll try to keep the trash talk to a minimum lol just teasing. Keep up the good work my friend!

Vote for @aggroed for witness if you haven't yet!

Great advice! I find myself walking the fine line at times though, but sometimes just can't help myself. I want to stay true and say my mind, but sometimes I'm hesitant just because of possible consequences...

This happened when I took a look at our CTO's last post. I wanted to reply... but didn't. Am I being too chicken?

Maybe. It depends on what you were going to say. It's ok to state "I don't consent to what you said here." That's on the block, but you're talking about a job where you are typically supposed to tow the company line... jobs don't work like block chains so there you typically just have to put up with whatever shit your boss throws at you.

I meant Steemit's CTO...

Oh, then fire away! but just keep the rule in mind tat you can't go on offense or you're the baddie.

Well, no, I felt too chicken. I was at Steemfest when I saw that post. I showed it to my wife and then she walked up to the guy and gave a short parental advisory, I'm sure the message was clear.

I'm just wondering if I should have had the balls to write it in a comment..

Excellent text @aggroed, can I make a shorter translation of your text with a link to this original?

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @globo from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Well worth reading @aggroed, upvoted & resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98