STEEMIT TIPS: Dolphin 101- You're reading comments wrong! (about to cross 2400 followers!)

in #howto7 years ago

If you've gotten to the point where you have some followers then you've probably been here long enough to learn to obsess over them at least a little. When I write a post, I'm not simply writing the post, I'm also carving out about 30 minutes afterward so that I can be sure to answer comments that come along. This is the lifeblood of keeping an active user base- that is engaging with them.

Amanda Palmer give an excellent talk on why it's so freakin' important to engage with the audience you're hoping to maintain.

So, you've gotten your audience, but you're probably not getting all the engagement out of it.

What you probably do

You write your article. You have PALnet open. You're talking to your friends. You see a comment come up like a little DING on your screen. You click the button and rush to answer it. If your page is getting some traction you're probably missing quite a lot of the action.

See the way it works is that when you respond to a post it appears as a reply to the author. When you reply to comment made about the post it appears as a reply to the commentor and not the to the post author. Say What? If I post on an article by @ausbitbank he'll see it come up. If @teamsteem replies to my comment then @ausbitbank won't see it. If it's a lively discussion on your wall then it's possible that what you're doing is making you miss upwards of half the comments on your post.

What should you do?

Open up and refresh the whole article. Scroll down through the comments and stay engaged with the discussion that is directed at you. Now I can see all of what's going on. Now I can upvote funny shit that minnows post in the comments even if they aren't directed at me, and now I'm really engaging the full spectrum of people commenting on a post.

A note about upvoting your own comment

This is normally considered autoerotic curation, and it isn't cool, but in case you haven't noticed yet comments appear in order of highest value on a wall. So, as a dolphin commenting on a minnow post if I want to make sure everyone sees my comment first I simply upvote with enough strength to get in front of everyone else. That's not quite the same as autoerotic curation, but just be careful upvoting your own comments because people will call you out. Then again, if you want to make sure that the author sees it and it isn't buried in the post it's a great way to get visibility.

I will now proceed to answer stuff that comes through for the next 30 min. I'll see you soon.

I'm sexy rockin' this now-


Sort:  

That is completely true :)
Trying to get a hang of it

Awesome and Lovely. Mentioning Amanda Palmer's video along with this post is beautiful idea which is totally related to what ever you said in your post. Lucky that I am following you since day one. Otherwise I would have totally missed this post so does must have missed a beautiful speech from Amanda.. Thanks for introducing me to her.

About Replies, I am just 3 weeks old and my posts were still in single digit. My last post was total disaster for me in terms of voting though I feel the content I put there is valuable. But still, ever Since my first post, I always stay back up to an hour or more time to answer for the replies I get. I feel it like it's my responsibility. I feel it like It will make more people will understand my post if still they have any doubts.. I feel it like it will make a step closer to community.

Sorry...my reply become almost like a post..hahaha.. But You made a valid point. Thank to you.

When you're little I strongly suggest putting minimal effort into posting and maximul effort into commenting. you're way more likely to catch big upvote and post rewards in a comment on a whale than as a minnow posting. Come join the minnow support project in the Discord channel. maybe we can get you launched faster.

Sorry for the late reply. I was preparing content for my next post. I have been seeing this minnow support posts every once in a while. Is that really helpful..

It's my baby. I hope it is.

hahaha.. ok I will join then..right away.

Nice advice on watching your new posts. I think your are correct in saying most people are not actively engaged in their posts when they first post them... 30 minutes minimum of active attention is great advice!

Congrats on the 68 Rep:)

Man that was 9 months in the making. I don't know how some of these folks have more than me in less time. Kinda shocking. it depends on teh size of your audience too. You can get away with less if it's little, but if it's big it'll take some time.

WOWWW!! Well i guess that proves that hard work pays off @aggroed.

This information is really insightful and i didnt even know it wasnt cool to upvote your own post. I just want to know how to get more STEEM in your account.You have really shared something unique with us and really hope to see more of your posts.

In the discord room there's a channel called writing-advice. I've put my best info in there.

Thanks a lot

I wonder if I can up vote this comment to the top of @aggroed 's wall without looking like a complete tool...

Helped you out mate. Upvoting own comments is addicting.

I posted an article, patiently waited for 30 minutes, but no one was listening.

Sounds like being a minnow. Make more friends. tell people when you post about something in general, without actually linking the post. Could be fun.

you're more successful than me....

just 30 minutes ..lol I've been waiting days lol

Hahaa...I have been guilty of autoeroticism..why do I suddenly feel the need to wash my fingers?!? Arrgh!!!

that's dirty... and always welcome on my wall. :)

I couldn't get your comment to be worth exactly what I wanted... but you get the drift.

LOL You've done plenty and I thank ye for it.

Thank you for posting your view! It's hard in the beginning to get somewhere. I just started yesterday and I already wrote a few comments. As you said, they mostly got lost because my reputation is low and I didn't upvote them. But I'm looking forward for more posts! I also joined minnow today :D

Great. Minnow Support Project should serve you well. Welcome aboard. I have a whole bunch of steemit and writing advice in there in teh writing-advice channel. Hopefully something helps you.

mfw i'm not sure what to comment since this isn't very relevant to me as a minnow -

Gifs are (almost) always appreciated!

Well I don't use them, because I don't gif a f*ck

thanks for the info. I thought that steemit automatically liked your comment when you post it. Are you supposed to unlike it so that your not "autoerotic"? Also what does it take to be a dolphin?

Wow i just uprooted myself and shot up in the comments. Did not know it worked like that.

dolphin is 5k sp - 50k sp.

It'll automatically upvote a post, but not a comment I don't think. Either way. you're a minnow it isn't a big deal.

Ok great. soon I will be swimming with dolphins!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49