Help me out a little bit... Steam is still confusing me.

Okay,

So I joined this awesome community of Steem Users.. I was given free Steem credit... I can vote up some posts, or write new posts. This is about all I have attained so far.

What benefit would I get by trading in some of my bitcoin for steem? (Is there a benefit?). Even when I vote for posts, my steem in my wallet does not decrease.

I am a little confused.. could you guys help drop some knowledge on my please :D

Thank you thank you!

Sort:  

Posting content that the community will enjoy is the easiest way to get steem. If you use bitcoin to buy steempower your bitcoin will be locked up in the site for the next two years.

Although people say that if you have more steempower you will get more of a weighted vote for your curation, I have yet to see a sizeable difference that is the result of having a lot of steempower. That is to say less than 1000 SP. You can earn the person more money faster if you have alot of steempower, but I'm not sure how it is related to what you get paid. Ie, if it's proportional or not.

Curation (upvotes) will earn you steempower but not a huge amount. Commenting also will earn you steem and steempower and counts the same as submitting content. Hope this helps .

So basically everything I do earns steem? And it probably isnt worth investing in at this point?

Yes, basically everything that you do on the site earns steem. As far as investing more that is all still very speculative. If you see the price of steem rising a substantial amount relatively soon it might not be a bad idea to pick up some steem, but steem is now on poliniex so if you want to go the speculative route there is really no need to tie the steem up in steempower or trade it on the market here on the site. I would say that in the long term steem would overtake ethereum but when is still hard to give a timeline. It depends on market makers, media, and adoption rate. It's still a good time to get in no matter what. We all are still early to the party in my view. ​

The steem power awarded for curating is paid out 24 hours after the post was published - so you need to wait a day to see the benefit of your up-votes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66