Pairs: Good or Bad?

in #howcurious7 years ago (edited)

Pairs!

Generally, we think of the number two when we read or hear the word "pair"; a pair of shoes, a pair of earrings, a pair of cloves. In fact, this is also not so strange, since the definition of pair includes the number two.

0

Definition by Merriam Webster

  1. two corresponding things designed for use together; a pair of shoes - two corresponding bodily parts or members; a pair of hands
  2. something made up of two corresponding pieces a pair of trousers
  3. two similar or associated things such as
    • two mated animals
    • a couple in love, engaged, or married were a devoted pair
    • two playing cards of the same value or denomination and especially of the same rank
    • two horses harnessed side by side
    • two members of a deliberative body that agree not to vote on a specific issue during a time agreed on; also an agreement not to vote made by the two members
  4. a partnership especially of two players in a contest against another partnership
  5. chiefly dialectal: a set or series of small objects (such as beads)

Pairs: The Enemy

Even numbers provide symmetry; provide a sense of order! This can be perceived as good!

Interestingly, in the design world, a pair is not at all a good number; It is almost an enemy. Even numbers are apparently not what the human mind finds aesthetic; odd numbers are the name of the game with the number 3 the magic number.

Despite what any of your playground foes may have told you in grade school, being odd is actually a good thing. Odd numbers – and the number three, specifically – have long been heralded by designers and stylists as magical numbers that should be applied to interiors and vignettes to make them look even better. But better how?

Odd Numbers Create Visual Interest

Even numbers create symmetry, but odd numbers create interest. An odd number of details is more effective at capturing your gaze. Odd numbers force your eyes to move around the grouping–and by extension, the room. That forced movement is the heart of visual interest. It's for that reason that a set of three is more appealing and memorable than something paired off in two's.

1

What Triggered me to Write about Pairs?

For some reason, I have something with numbers. This week when viewing my stats on my profile page, it flashed through my mind: "I see all pairs; How interesting!".

Combining all digits in my followers, following and posts numbers, together consisting of 10 digits, form 5 pairs; The numbers 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 as you can see in the image below.

I would have loved when these numbers would also have some mathematical meaning, like all Prime numbers or even better, all Mersenne Prime numbers. But unfortunately I was not able to discover that. When interested, you can read about Prime and Mersenne Prime numbers here.

However, with a little less mathematical view, something special can be observed!

2

How Curious!

All numbers form together the perfect series of consecutive numbers in our decimal system; With the screaming absence of the number 2.

Did my brains register this because of the absence of the number 2? Does my brain want to be more the 'designer' rather than 'analytical', 'mathematical' and 'logical'? Is the number 2 evil?


What Is Your Take On This Matter?

Please Leave a Comment with Your Thoughts if You Will


NJOY

follow me @edje

Sort:  

Great perspective. I always aim for symmetry around my house and never thought too add odd numbers for interest (maybe thats why I'm not a designer ha). Symmetry is predictable and a little dull. Very eye opening thank you for the post

My mind is also focussed on symmetry, somehow I think it'll provide the order that gives me a relax feeling. The opposite is actually true indeed.

With a spiritual view at what I discovered on my profile page: The universe is trying to tell me to let symmetry go, To let analytics and Order go, To give myself to the creative side of the world ;)

haha how interesting! I do agree, I think there is general order with numbers. Also, Congrats on all the posts / followers. Im a new user and I can only hope to strive to achieve the level your at! Keep up the great work!

Thank you for reading and your comment. I was you all the success, but foremost FUN here at Steemit. The community is a great one!

Look at the payout value...Not a Pair, But? What Can I Say... Will This Be Good or Bad For Me???

Interesting! From a "decorative aesthetic" angle, I far more often see "threes" as part of design.

And yet, much of my personal art is based around patterns and sacred geometry (often nature-based) which provides even numbers. When I create a painted mandala on a stone (for example) it becomes an endless iteration of opposing pairs: 2-4-8-16-32-64, etc. In the end, the outcome can be quite aesthetically beautiful and complex....

You may have a more analytical mind?
Abstract artists may be more analytical?

Pairs are cool ! Like In and Yan :)

Ohww indeed, when have two being the opposite of each other, than this is generally a GOOD thing, since it provides balance: as in Good and Evil as a pair! :)

Yes and we can have better look on both !

Interesting :)

I thought so Indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48