You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE FARM IS A NO GO

in #how5 years ago (edited)

I got my dream farm almost ten years ago. We bought bare land and started from scratch. If I had it to do over, I would NOT be looking for big acreage. We have almost 40 acres and since we did NOT inherit this, since it was NOT a working farm when we got it, we have been unable to really do anything with it. We have no tractors, not even an ATV, no barns... none of the things REQUIRED to make money on a farm. Now, we DO have a lovely lifestyle as my husband kept his day job which supports my puttering about the property, but we have pretty much given up on trying to make this a working farm. Every farmer and rancher around here plays that bank game, get a loan to buy calves in the spring, hope you can sell them for enough to pay off the loan later. We are too old, and unwilling to take on that kind of debt. We want to pass PAID OFF land to our kids, not a giant debt load.

I guess what I am saying is when you are done being a little sad, count your blessings and maybe take another look at what you are hoping for. God may have just helped you dodge a bullet. Please consider looking for a little country place, but just half an acre, or even a quarter acre. It is PLENTY to have a big garden, a few chickens and maybe a milk goat or mini-cow. Let me throw this out for consideration. Plain old T-post and barb wire fence costs about $1 per foot for LABOR. Know how many feet it takes to surround 40 acres? THOUSANDS of dollars, and that is not even counting materials. You can save money building your own, but that burns your time and if you are working a farm, you will be as short on time as you are money.

Anyway, I do not mean to be "Debbie Downer" on farming, but I am, and always will be, about speaking the truth.

Best wishes to you and your family!

Sort:  

No worries about being " Mrs. Downer". And i always welcome advice from those who have been down the road i am about to travel. So i thank you very much and do truly appreciate it. Your warm words and valued wisdom I will carry with me. Thank you so much.🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67950.48
ETH 2621.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72