A little advice from a little fish to a little fish part 3, and 500 followers!! So exciting!!!

in #how-to7 years ago (edited)

I know some of you don't like milestone posts, but I can't help it!! I will also turn this into an advice article so it's not exclusively a milestone post. ;)
DQmdEjVfkRa1P5X2yiGHk4HhM8saikVfCXAZGFWXCubhmwt_640x480.jpeg

I have 500 followers now! That's half of 1000!! I've been creating what I believe to be high quality posts and also interacting with other Steemians as much as I can, and I think it's paying off! I try not to make my articles too long so as to lose interest, but even so, each post probably takes an average of 2 hours.

This goes to show that if you keep steeming on, putting your honest effort into this platform, you will see results!! Thank you to my followers and to those who support me here. Cheers!!

I started blogging at the end of September, and I've definitely learned some things along the way! Here are a few tips to new Steemians, as we are being flooded as of late!!

If you want to like your newsfeed, don't follow everyone who follows you! Complaining about poor content? Not used to crappy posts in comparison to other social media sites? Who are you following? There is also the mute option.

Don't be controversial! If you disagree, try to season your words so they will be tasteful. I noticed on Sola people could care less about offending others and arguments can go on for weeks, even months. If you can't help but insult people, go there! Here at Steemit we are for the most part kind to one another. I've decided to stay away from the subject of upvote bots and self voting. People have some really strong opinions on such, but I've come to believe as long as you're not straight up spamming me, sending me cookie cutter responses, and begging me for upvotes/follows, I'm going to live and let live. Even then I will probably just ignore you.

people-2608145__480.jpg

Be transparent! We want to get to know you! I noticed someone complaining about people who share their personal lives and anecdotes. Personally I love it!! I want to know the person behind the post! Sure there's a place for sterile crypto updates, but there's also a place for you! If you leave yourself out of Steemit, try something new, and post about yourself just once!!

Save your most excellent posts for when you have more followers. This may seem counterintuitive, but this is a mistake I made. You probably have some ideas for some great material when you first join, and you may have encouraging feedback from your introduce yourself post, and you may want to go in with a bang, but trust me on this one. Your first posts will likely fall away into oblivion.

Last but not least be patient. I know you can do this! STEEM ON!!! Remember, I'm a little fish too, and we're in this together. :)

C360_2018-01-16-18-51-16-013.jpg

Love snowpea ❤😘🙂🌸

*Images from Pixabay

Sort:  

I am coming up on my 500 follower milestone as well, it's pretty cool! It took me a bit longer though, as I didn't do much research in my first months on here and kinda fell away for awhile. Let that be a lesson readers! Don't give up or fall away, eventually you'll get some momentum and you'll start getting the response you're looking for!
This is all great advice, though I do like to be controversial at times :)

Looks like you just made it to 500, and I'll be 501!! :) Congratulations!!

Love this post. Congrats on 500 followers and for giving good advice. Looks like you will continue to do well here.

Congratulations my friend. Interesting post. I need to set down and do the same as I have over 1000 followers (supposedly LOL) and have not done a thank you post since the 100 mark. I always enjoy reading your posts.

I know what you mean when you say supposedly haha! Congrats on over 1000 and thanks for reading!! :)

Some good advice! Congrats on the milestone! I like the personal posts too

Thank you!! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by snowpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Hope you make it to 1000 soon:)

Me too! Thank you!! :)

And I nominate @snowpea today

Seven day Black and white challenge https://goo.gl/7WRmNc

I already attempted the 7 day challenge but flaked out towards the end. I'll give it another try. Thanks for nominating me. :)

Congrats! Just hit 100 earlier today, aiming for 500 next. Best wishes!

Congrats to you too!! Steem on! :)

Truly, patience is a virtue! Only started December so this is all pretty much new to it. I like writing but I don't think I'm not good yet.

Thanks for sharing!

You'll get the hang of it. Looking over your finished product and editing as needed before anyone else sees it is key. ;)

I'll keep that in mind! 🤗

Good message. Youre right about not following everyone, i like my newsfeed focused. Its tempting to put your best work out there early to try and catch the eye of others, but youre right there too, save them for later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66498.47
ETH 3469.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62