Alternative Housing Ideas

in #housing7 years ago (edited)

Recently my fiance and I have been thinking of different alternative housing ideas.
There are surprisingly an abundance of different alternative houses that you can make yourself. I started researching, though, with what i saw as a more basic idea. The Tiny Home.

I thought this to be a pretty simple idea. It would be a great idea right? Well not unless your on a really tight budget. These tiny houses can range anywhere from $20,000- $80,000 averagely.
I'm looking for something under $3,000 that i can buy or make myself. So the tiny house idea was a no go.
Next i looked into Yurts, but this time i looked into new and used.


I loved the inside of the yurts. The wall itself was interior design.
I set aside the fact that there was no bathroom in the more basic and used yurts and we thought we could just stay on someones land for a while and use their water and sewer systems.
These ranges from $3,000-$30,000 between both new and used yurts so that was more of our price range but i was curious if there was an even cheaper of an option. So the research continued...
The next thing I found was Pallet houses.


We thought for sure that this was the perfect idea! And the best part? It's FREE.
Looking through craigslist and local stores sites i found a bunch of free pallets that people were giving away or just throwing out unless someone wanted it.
I also found windows, doors, and everything in between for free or for sale fora very low price. Sounds perfect right? Not so much once i realized we would have to buy land.

Now depending on where you want to live that can either still be a good idea or can be a really really expensive idea. We aren't just looking for any land either.
We want a few acres of land that we can use for living, farming, and needs to have water and sewer in place on the property. Not as easy to find as you would think in my budget.
So finally i have come to buses/ campers and greenhouses.

Looking around i realized we could buy a bus or camper used for $1,000 and up. Very small livable glass greenhouses were around $400-$3,000 depending on the size and type of greenhouse you want.


Portable, compact, no mortgage or property taxes. But for some reason i just cant make up my mind... Anyone have any ideas?

Sort:  

I've been going through many of the same thoughts, and you really break down the struggle that one faces trying to live "off-the-grid" so to speak. You need land, and good land isn't cheap. Then you have to worry about sewage and water.

I really like the idea of living in a greenhouse, with possibly a makeshift outhouse and composting toilet. You can live there temporarily while you build a cabin or house. But once again, you need the land to build on.

It seems like the best temporary solution under $5000 without land, is buying a nice RV camper like a Ford Econoline series. But I think if you really had to, you could buy land under $1000 and build a small "Shelter" for a couple grand. There are nice tents with wood burning stoves you might consider.

I haven't thought of tents with wood burning stoves. That's a good idea as well, thank you. I was going to possibly look into composite toilets, i hadn't heard much about them before.

I hope you find something that works. I was not aware of the yurts that sounds like something I should look into. My wife and I have been looking for something cheap as well looking to be more self sufficient being rent is just to much.

Thank you looking forward to what you find.

Thank you, good luck to you and your wife as well. The yurt idea is great and best part is you can take it down and move it if desired.

That does sound like a really cool idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01